Commentary Guide
Call Number Regions
Major Commentaries on Leviticus
Commentaries on the Four Last Books of Moses Arranged in the Form of a Harmony (Calvin’s Commentaries) [4 vols.] by Call Number: BS491 .C2813 1981ISBN: 0801024404Publication Date: 1974
Leviticus, Numbers (NIV Application Commentary) by
The NIV Application Commentary helps you communicate and apply biblical text effectively in today'' context. To bring the ancient messages of the Bible into today's world, each passage is treated in three sections: Original Meaning. Concise exegesis to help readers understand the original meaning of the biblical text in its historical, literary, and cultural context. Bridging Contexts. A bridge between the world of the Bible and the world of today, built by discerning what is timeless in the timely pages of the Bible. Contemporary Significance. This section identifies comparable situations to those faced in the Bible and explores relevant application of the biblical messages. The author alerts the readers of problems they may encounter when seeking to apply the passage and helps them think through the issues involved. This unique, award-winning commentary is the ideal resource for today's preachers, teachers, and serious students of the Bible, giving them the tools, ideas, and insights they need to communicate God's Word with the same powerful impact it had when it was first written.
Call Number: BS1255.3 .G36 2004ISBN: 0310210887Publication Date: 2004
Leviticus (Word Biblical Commentary) by
Although it is at the heart of the Pentateuch, the book of Leviticus is sometimes dismissed as dry and legalistic material with little relevance to modern religious concerns. But in this commentary Dr. John Hartley perceives that the message of Leviticus--the significance of pure worship and holy living--is also the heart of vital faith in any age. Amid the prescriptions for sacrifice and ritual to be observed by Israel in the wilderness, the author finds useful observations for the people of God today. The emphasis of Leviticus on true worship, and on ordering the ethical life according to the will of Yahweh instead of idols, was at the heart of Israel's raison d'etre, Dr. Hartley notes. Viewed in this light, such prescriptions as the "Holiness Code" (chapters 17-26) are far more than a list of ritual observances; they are Israel's response to God's charge to "be holy, for I, Yahweh, your God, am holy." Leviticus' focus on the Aaronic priesthood also receives special attention in this treatment. The Levites are the designated communicators charged with transmitting God's law through Moses--indeed, the purpose of the book "to preserve divine sermons for the instruction of the congregation in cultic and ethical matters." Yet, despite their insistence on correct form and content in worship, the Levites do not become authoritarian protectors of a secret code in the manner of pagan priests. Since the formulas were proclaimed to the congregation, they became an informed laity exerting a balancing dynamic on the priests as well as receiving ministry from them. The author's sensitivity to theological concern makes this commentary useful in expository preaching. his introduction includes essays on the themes of holiness, God's presence, the covenant, sacrifice, and the relation of Leviticus to the New Testament. On the widely disputed question of authorship Dr. Hartley affirms the text's claim that "Yahweh spoke to Moses . . ." and that Leviticus helped shape the nation's worship and life instead of merely reflecting existing practices. Yet he also acknowledges the evidence that some of the material shows the community's dynamic interpretation of how God's word through Moses was to be applied in their daily lives. This two-edged sword of loyalty to the text and to the community's life makes the commentary useful in "discovering ways that contemporary communities of faith may be shaped and empowered by the received Word of God."
Call Number: BS1255.3 .H377 1992ISBN: 0849902037Publication Date: 1992
Genesis-Leviticus (Expositor's Bible Commentary) by
Continuing a Gold Medallion Award-winning legacy, this completely revised edition of The Expositor's Bible Commentary series puts world-class biblical scholarship in your hands. Based on the original twelve-volume set that has become a staple in college and seminary libraries and pastors' studies worldwide, this new thirteen-volume edition marshals the most current evangelical scholarship and resources.The thoroughly revised features consist of:* Comprehensive introductions* Short and precise bibliographies* Detailed outlines* Insightful expositions of passages and verses* Overviews of sections of Scripture to illuminate the big picture* Occasional reflections to give more detail on important issues* Notes on textual questions and special problems, placed close to the texts in question* Transliterations and translations of Hebrew and Greek words, enabling readers to understand even the more technical notes* A balanced and respectful approach toward marked differences of opinion
Call Number: BS1225.3 .L664 2008ISBN: 9780310230823Publication Date: 2008
The Pentateuch (Biblical Commentary on the Old Testament) by
"Keil and Delitzsch's "Commentary on the Old Testament" is a classic of the nineteenth century. It is popular with conservatives because of its theology. But its sharp insights mean it is by no means just conservatives who find it helpful--it is not uncommon, for example, to see it cited in the bibliography of an academic study. It is therefore welcome that Hendrickson have made it available in a lightly corrected version."
--"Anvil"
Call Number: BS1225.3 .K413 1956 v.2ISBN: 0913573884Publication Date: 1996
Leviticus (The JPS Torah Commentary) by
The JPS Torah Commentary series guides readers through the words and ideas of the Torah. Each volume is the work of a scholar who stands at the pinnacle of his field. Every page contains the complete traditional Hebrew text, with cantillation notes, the JPS translation of the Holy Scriptures, aliyot breaks, Masoretic notes, and commentary by a distinguished Hebrew Bible scholar, integrating classical and modern sources. Each volume also contains supplementary essays that elaborate upon key words and themes, a glossary of commentators and sources, extensive bibliographic notes, and maps.
Call Number: BS1255.3 .L48 1989ISBN: 0827603282Publication Date: 2003
Leviticus (Anchor Bible) [3 vols.] by
Leviticus served as the liturgical handbook of the Levitical Priesthood of the Israelites. From a professor of Religion and the Bible at the University of California at Berkeley comes a comprehensive commentary on Leviticus, now available with a new translation that is sure to set the standard for years to come.
Call Number: BS1255.3 .M44 1991ISBN: 0385114346Publication Date: 1998-2008
Leviticus (New American Commentary) by
THE NEW AMERICAN COMMENTARY is for the minister or Bible student who wants to understand and expound the Scriptures. Notable features include:* commentary based on THE NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION;* the NIV text printed in the body of the commentary;* sound scholarly methodology that reflects capable research in the original languages;* interpretation that emphasizes the theological unity of each book and of Scripture as a whole;* readable and applicable exposition.
Call Number: BS1255.3 .R66 2000ISBN: 0805401032Publication Date: 2000
Leviticus (Tyndale Old Testament Commentaries) by
Preaching's Preacher's Guide to the Best Bible Reference for 2014 (Old Testament Commentaries)Levitical rules and regulations can at first appear irrelevant to contemporary Christians--but they provide important Old Testament background for understanding large portions of the New Testament. Leviticus describes a point in human history when God came and dwelt in the midst of the ancient Israelites and taught them what their purpose in life really was. Jay Sklar's commentary makes clear what it is that the Lord said to them and, in so doing, makes clear what he says to us today.
Call Number: BS1255.3 .S55 2014ISBN: 9780830842841Publication Date: 2014
The Book of Leviticus (New International Commentary on the Old Testament) by
Leviticus used to be the first book that Jewish children studied in the synagogue. In the modern church it tends to be the last part of the Bible that anyone looks at seriously. Because Leviticus is largely concerned with subjects that seem incomprehensible and irrelevant today -- rituals for sacrifice and regulations concerning uncleanness -- it appears to have nothing to say to twenty-first-century Christians. In this excellent commentary on Leviticus, Gordon Wenham takes with equal seriousness both the plain original meaning of the text and its abiding theological value. To aid in reconstructing the original meaning of the text, Wenham draws from studies of Old Testament ritual and sacrifice that compare and contrast biblical customs with the practices of other Near Eastern cultures. He also closely examines the work of social anthropologists and expertly utilizes the methods of literary criticism to bring out the biblical author?s special interests. In pursuit of his second aim, to illumine the enduring theological value of Leviticus, Wenham discusses at the end of each section how the Old Testament passages relate to the New Testament and to contemporary Christianity. In doing so, he not only shows how pervasive Levitical ideas are in the New Testament but also highlights in very practical ways the enduring claim of God?s call to holiness on the lives of Christians today.
Call Number: BS1255.3 .W4 1979ISBN: 9780802825223Publication Date: 1979
- The Pentateuch (Biblical Commentary on the Old Testament) by
"Keil and Delitzsch's "Commentary on the Old Testament" is a classic of the nineteenth century. It is popular with conservatives because of its theology. But its sharp insights mean it is by no means just conservatives who find it helpful--it is not uncommon, for example, to see it cited in the bibliography of an academic study. It is therefore welcome that Hendrickson have made it available in a lightly corrected version."
--"Anvil"
ISBN: 0913573884
- Leviticus (Anchor Bible) [vol. 1] by
Leviticus served as the liturgical handbook of the Levitical Priesthood of the Israelites. From a professor of Religion and the Bible at the University of California at Berkeley comes a comprehensive commentary on Leviticus, now available with a new translation that is sure to set the standard for years to come.
ISBN: 0385114346Publication Date: 1991
- Leviticus (Anchor Bible) [vol. 2] by
Leviticus served as the liturgical handbook of the Levitical Priesthood of the Israelites. From a professor of Religion and the Bible at the University of California at Berkeley comes a comprehensive commentary on Leviticus, now available with a new translation that is sure to set the standard for years to come.
ISBN: 0385114346Publication Date: 2000
- Leviticus (Anchor Bible) [vol. 3] by
Leviticus served as the liturgical handbook of the Levitical Priesthood of the Israelites. From a professor of Religion and the Bible at the University of California at Berkeley comes a comprehensive commentary on Leviticus, now available with a new translation that is sure to set the standard for years to come.
ISBN: 0385114346Publication Date: 2001
Leviticus (Tyndale Old Testament Commentaries) by
Preaching's Preacher's Guide to the Best Bible Reference for 2014 (Old Testament Commentaries)Levitical rules and regulations can at first appear irrelevant to contemporary Christians--but they provide important Old Testament background for understanding large portions of the New Testament. Leviticus describes a point in human history when God came and dwelt in the midst of the ancient Israelites and taught them what their purpose in life really was. Jay Sklar's commentary makes clear what it is that the Lord said to them and, in so doing, makes clear what he says to us today.
ISBN: 9780830895861Publication Date: 2014
The Book of Leviticus (New International Commentary on the Old Testament) by ISBN: 1467422924Publication Date: 1979
- Leviticus Commentaries in the E-Book CatalogDiscover many more e-book commentaries on Leviticus.
- Commentaries on the Four Last Books of Moses Arranged in the Form of a Harmony. Translated by Charles William Bingham. 4 vols. Calvin's Commentaries. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 1950.
- Leviticus, Numbers. NIV Application Commentary. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan, 2004.
- Leviticus. Word Biblical Commentary. Dallas: Word Books, 1992.
- “Leviticus.” In Expositor’s Bible Commentary, edited by Tremper Longman III and David E. Garland, rev. ed., 1:563–826. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan, 2008.
- The Pentateuch. Translated by James Martin. Vol. 2. Biblical Commentary on the Old Testament. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 1956.
- Leviticus: The Traditional Hebrew Text with the New JPS Translation. The JPS Torah Commentary. Philadelphia: Jewish Publication Society, 1989.
- Leviticus 1–16: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Anchor Bible. New York: Doubleday, 1991.
———. Leviticus 17–22: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Anchor Yale Bible. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 2008.———. Leviticus 23–27: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Anchor Bible. New York: Doubleday, 2001.
- Leviticus. New American Commentary. Nashville, TN: Broadman & Holman, 2000.
- Leviticus: An Introduction and Commentary. Tyndale Old Testament Commentaries. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 2014.
- The Book of Leviticus. New International Commentary on the Old Testament. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 1979.