Commentary Guide
Call Number Regions
Major Commentaries 1 & 2 Kings
1 and 2 Kings (Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary) by
The Old Testament provides peculiarly powerful ways of thinking and seeing. Brueggemann considers the artistry of 1 & 2 Kings as it mediates between history and faith. He has spent many years engaged with the artistry and imagination of the Old Testament, pondering the ways of power in church and society and he makes clear that those issues of power in the ancient texts still pertain to contemporary times.While the book proceeds text-by-text, special focus is placed upon Solomon, Elijah, Elisha, and Josiah as models of faith. Brueggemann provides a useful guide for the reader to maneuver between flat history and absolute faith. In commentary form, 1 & 2 Kings invites the reader to view fresh ways of faithful insight and wisdom.
Call Number: BS1335.3 .B789 2000ISBN: 1573120650Publication Date: 2000
I Kings (Anchor Bible) by
Beginning with the death of David and the rise of Solomon, 1 Kings charts the history of Israel through the divided monarchy, when Ahab reigned in the north and Jehoshaphat reigned in the south. This new translation, with introduction and commentary by biblical scholar Mordechai Cogan, is part of the Anchor Bible Commentary series, viewed by many as the definitive commentaries for use in both Christian and Jewish scholarship and worship. Cogan's translation brings new immediacy to well-known passages, such as Solomon's famously wise judgment when asked by two prostitutes to decide their dispute regarding motherhood of a child: "Cut the live son in two! And give half to one and half to the other." With a bibliography that runs to almost a thousand articles and books, Cogan's commentary demonstrates his mastery of the political history described by 1 Kings, as well as the themes of moral and religious failure that eventually led to Israel's defeat and exile.
Call Number: BS1335.3 .C62 2008ISBN: 9780300140538Publication Date: 2001
II Kings (Anchor Bible) by
II Kings (Volume 11 in the acclaimed Anchor Bible) is the chronicle of the raging conflicts that tore the United Kingdom of Israel apart, creating the rival nations of Israel to the north and Judah to the south. It tells of the time of the great prophecies of Elijah and Elisha, and of the legendary conquerors of not only the Jews, but the whole of the Middle East--Sennacherib, Hazael, Tiglath-pileser III, Nebuchadnezzar, and Shalmaneser. The book of II Kings was written with a dual purpose. It provided a chronological history of the divided kingdoms of Israel, from the time of division, through the destruction of the city of Jerusalem, and the final exile of the Jews into Babylonia. It also served as a reminder to all Israelite monarchs that their loyalty to the God of Israel, as worshipped in Jerusalem, determined the course of history. In his telling of the story, the book's author emphasized to his contemporaries and future generations that in order to avert the calamities that befell the Chosen People (their conquest by nonbelievers, the destruction of Jerusalem, and their ignominious exile), they would have to avoid a repetition of the misdeeds of the past. If they remained loyal to their God, their God would remain loyal to them. Complete with maps, charts, photographs, and extra-biblical documentation, II Kings presents an important and illuminating new translation which explores a tumultuous epoch of change that forever affected theological and world history
Call Number: BS1335.3 .C63 1988ISBN: 038502388XPublication Date: 1988
2 Kings (Word Biblical Commentary) by
The book of 2 Kings reads like tragic drama, telling the story of the closing decades of the divided monarchy in Israel and Judah-its failure, the Exile, the destruction of Jerusalem. If these are indeed God's chosen people, why has he allowed them to be so devastated? In this insightful commentary, Dr. T. R. Hobbs focuses on 2 Kings as the purposeful attempt of its author to interpret the tragedy for those people-to give them new understanding of their past and renew their hope for the future. Dr. Hobbs provides guidance in exploring several important themes emphasized by the author, among them: the prophet's role in the history of Israel and Judah, and the power of the divine word, particularly as transmitted by the prophet Elisha God's relentless insistence on faithfulness to the law of Moses (largely ignored by the people) as a condition for continuation of the Davidic covenant the dire effects of idol worship as practiced by the Canaanites and foolishly emulated by Israel and Judah inevitable doom as the fruit of disobedience, despite the occasional reforms instituted by some of the kings. Dr. Hobbs's careful research has supplied sound reasons for acknowledging 2 Kings to be the creation of a single author, a master of literary expression whose skillfully crafted work fulfills its purpose. Particularly intriguing is the discussion on the deliberate imbalance in the author's selectivity of source materials and role models, both positive and negative; the perceptive analysis of literary techniques such as threefold repetition, word plays, and formulaic progressions; and the brief but penetrating overview of the nature of history and its relation to literary artistry. The commentary includes a welcome commonsense examination of2 Kings' complicated problems of chronology, and there is ongoing dialogue with scholars who hold to a view of double or even multiple redaction of the book. Throughout, Dr. Hobbs demonstrates the author of 2 Kings to be "faithful to the facts, to his readers, to future Israel, and to God, whose word he delivers."
Call Number: BS1335.3 .H62 1985ISBN: 0849902126Publication Date: 1986
1, 2 Kings (New American Commentary) by
THE NEW AMERICAN COMMENTARY is for the minister or Bible student who wants to understand and expound the Scriptures. Notable features include:* commentary based on THE NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION;* the NIV text printed in the body of the commentary;* sound scholarly methodology that reflects capable research in the original languages;* interpretation that emphasizes the theological unity of each book and of Scripture as a whole;* readable and applicable exposition.
Call Number: BS1335.3 .H68 1995ISBN: 0805401083Publication Date: 1995
The Books of the Kings (Biblical Commentary on the Old Testament) by
"Keil and Delitzsch's "Commentary on the Old Testament" is a classic of the nineteenth century. It is popular with conservatives because of its theology. But its sharp insights mean it is by no means just conservatives who find it helpful--it is not uncommon, for example, to see it cited in the bibliography of an academic study. It is therefore welcome that Hendrickson have made it available in a lightly corrected version."
--"Anvil"
Call Number: BS1151.2 .K29 1996 v.3ISBN: 0913573884Publication Date: 1996
1 and 2 Kings (NIV Application Commentary) by
The NIV Application Commentary helps you communicate and apply biblical text effectively in today's context. To bring the ancient messages of the Bible into today's world, each passage is treated in three sections: Original Meaning. Concise exegesis to help readers understand the original meaning of the biblical text in its historical, literary, and cultural context. Bridging Contexts. A bridge between the world of the Bible and the world of today, built by discerning what is timeless in the timely pages of the Bible. Contemporary Significance. This section identifies comparable situations to those faced in the Bible and explores relevant application of the biblical messages. The author alerts the readers of problems they may encounter when seeking to apply the passage and helps them think through the issues involved. This unique, award-winning commentary is the ideal resource for today's preachers, teachers, and serious students of the Bible, giving them the tools, ideas, and insights they need to communicate God's Word with the same powerful impact it had when it was first written.
Call Number: BS1335.3 .K56 2006ISBN: 9780310211297Publication Date: 2006
First and Second Kings (Interpretation) by
Richard Nelson examines the books of Kings and treats the text as theological literature, emphasizing the literary impact of this important part of the Old Testament canon. Nelson recognizes King's as a useful though uncritical source of historical information, its purpose to transform the beliefs of its first readers, to get them to re-evaluate their identity before God. Interpretation: A Bible Commentary for Teaching and Preaching is a distinctive resource for those who interpret the Bible in the church. Planned and written specifically for teaching and preaching needs, this critically acclaimed biblical commentary is a major contribution to scholarship and ministry.
Call Number: BS1335.3 .N45 1987ISBN: 0804231095Publication Date: 1987
First and Second Kings (New International Biblical Commentary) by Call Number: BS1335.3 .P77 1995ISBN: 9781565630536Publication Date: 1995
I and II Kings (Old Testament Library) by
This volume offers a close reading of the historical books of I and II Kings, concentrating on not only issues in the history of Israel but also the literary techniques of storytelling used in these books. Marvin A. Sweeney provides a major contribution to the prominent Old Testament Library series with advanced discussions of textual difficulties in the books of Kings as well as compelling narrative interpretations. The Old Testament Library provides fresh and authoritative treatments of important aspects of Old Testament study through commentaries and general surveys. The contributors are scholars of international standing.
Call Number: BS1335.3 .S94 2007ISBN: 9780664220846Publication Date: 2007
1 Kings (Berit Olam) by
The narratives of Solomon and Jeroboam, of Elijah and Ahab, have fascinated readers for millennia. Even apart from questions of historical authenticity, they are gripping stories of richly drawn characters caught up in the complex tale of God's dealings with Israel. This study explores the narrative world created by 1 Kings' ancient Israelite author: the people who inhabit it, the lives they live, the deeds they do, and the face of God who is revealed in their stories. An introduction explains the significance of 1 Kings as a historical narrative. Originally intended as a literal history, after centuries of writing and rewriting it is now as much a literary work as a historical one: The views of those who formed it can be discerned and studied. Walsh also explains how the rich traditions of Hebrew prose narrative and the Hebrew language itself affect our reading of 1 Kings.
Call Number: BS1335.3 .W35 1996ISBN: 0814650449Publication Date: 1996
Kings I and II (Tyndale Old Testament Commentaries) by Call Number: BS1335.3 .W574 1993ISBN: 0830814302Publication Date: 1993
1 and 2 Kings (Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary) by
The Old Testament provides peculiarly powerful ways of thinking and seeing. Brueggemann considers the artistry of 1 & 2 Kings as it mediates between history and faith. He has spent many years engaged with the artistry and imagination of the Old Testament, pondering the ways of power in church and society and he makes clear that those issues of power in the ancient texts still pertain to contemporary times.While the book proceeds text-by-text, special focus is placed upon Solomon, Elijah, Elisha, and Josiah as models of faith. Brueggemann provides a useful guide for the reader to maneuver between flat history and absolute faith. In commentary form, 1 & 2 Kings invites the reader to view fresh ways of faithful insight and wisdom.
ISBN: 9781573120654Publication Date: 2000- I Kings (Anchor Bible) by
Beginning with the death of David and the rise of Solomon, 1 Kings charts the history of Israel through the divided monarchy, when Ahab reigned in the north and Jehoshaphat reigned in the south. This new translation, with introduction and commentary by biblical scholar Mordechai Cogan, is part of the Anchor Bible Commentary series, viewed by many as the definitive commentaries for use in both Christian and Jewish scholarship and worship. Cogan's translation brings new immediacy to well-known passages, such as Solomon's famously wise judgment when asked by two prostitutes to decide their dispute regarding motherhood of a child: "Cut the live son in two! And give half to one and half to the other." With a bibliography that runs to almost a thousand articles and books, Cogan's commentary demonstrates his mastery of the political history described by 1 Kings, as well as the themes of moral and religious failure that eventually led to Israel's defeat and exile.
ISBN: 9780300140538Publication Date: 2001
- II Kings (Anchor Bible) by
II Kings (Volume 11 in the acclaimed Anchor Bible) is the chronicle of the raging conflicts that tore the United Kingdom of Israel apart, creating the rival nations of Israel to the north and Judah to the south. It tells of the time of the great prophecies of Elijah and Elisha, and of the legendary conquerors of not only the Jews, but the whole of the Middle East--Sennacherib, Hazael, Tiglath-pileser III, Nebuchadnezzar, and Shalmaneser. The book of II Kings was written with a dual purpose. It provided a chronological history of the divided kingdoms of Israel, from the time of division, through the destruction of the city of Jerusalem, and the final exile of the Jews into Babylonia. It also served as a reminder to all Israelite monarchs that their loyalty to the God of Israel, as worshipped in Jerusalem, determined the course of history. In his telling of the story, the book's author emphasized to his contemporaries and future generations that in order to avert the calamities that befell the Chosen People (their conquest by nonbelievers, the destruction of Jerusalem, and their ignominious exile), they would have to avoid a repetition of the misdeeds of the past. If they remained loyal to their God, their God would remain loyal to them. Complete with maps, charts, photographs, and extra-biblical documentation, II Kings presents an important and illuminating new translation which explores a tumultuous epoch of change that forever affected theological and world history
ISBN: 038502388XPublication Date: 1988
- The Books of the Kings (Biblical Commentary on the Old Testament) by
"Keil and Delitzsch's "Commentary on the Old Testament" is a classic of the nineteenth century. It is popular with conservatives because of its theology. But its sharp insights mean it is by no means just conservatives who find it helpful--it is not uncommon, for example, to see it cited in the bibliography of an academic study. It is therefore welcome that Hendrickson have made it available in a lightly corrected version."
--"Anvil"
ISBN: 0913573884
First and Second Kings (Interpretation) by
Richard Nelson examines the books of Kings and treats the text as theological literature, emphasizing the literary impact of this important part of the Old Testament canon. Nelson recognizes King's as a useful though uncritical source of historical information, its purpose to transform the beliefs of its first readers, to get them to re-evaluate their identity before God.
ISBN: 9780664238667Publication Date: 2012
I and II Kings (Old Testament Library) by
Now available in paperback, this volume offers a close reading of the historical books of I and II Kings, concentrating on not only issues in the history of Israel but also the literary techniques of storytelling used in these books. Marvin A. Sweeney provides a major contribution to the prominent Old Testament Library series with dvanced discussions of textual difficulties in the books of Kings as well as compelling narrative interpretations. The Old Testament Library provides fresh and authoritative treatments of important aspects of Old Testament study through commentaries and general surveys. The contributors are scholars of international standing.
ISBN: 9780664238919Publication Date: 2013
1 and 2 Kings (Tyndale Old Testament Commentaries) by
The book of Kings is a unique source for understanding the history of Israel from the last days of the united kingdom under David to the eventual fall of the kingdoms of Israel and Judah. Presenting Israel's national history from a divine viewpoint, these narratives measure the kings of Israel and Judah not by the mark they leave on secular history, but by their "doing what is right in the Lord's sight." Embedded in this story are enduring lessons of the ways of God with his people in every age.In this commentary Donald Wiseman brings to this portion of Scripture his lifelong study of the archaeology, history, languages and documents of the ancient Near East. No other commentary on Kings offers as much historical background and well-considered judgment in such concise and accessible form.The original, unrevised text of this volume has been completely retypeset and printed in a larger, more attractive format with the new cover design for the series.
ISBN: 9780830842094Publication Date: 2008
- 1 & 2 Kings Commentaries in the E-Book CatalogDiscover many more e-book commentaries on 1 and 2 Kings.
- 1 & 2 Kings. Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary. Macon, GA: Smyth & Helwys, 2000.
- I Kings: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Anchor Bible. New York: Doubleday, 2001.
- II Kings: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. Anchor Bible. New York: Doubleday, 1988.
- 2 Kings. Word Biblical Commentary. Waco, TX: Word Books, 1985.
- 1, 2 Kings. New American Commentary. Nashville, TN: Broadman & Holman, 1995.
- The Books of the Kings. Translated by James Martin. Biblical Commentary on the Old Testament. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 1950.
- 1 & 2 Kings. NIV Application Commentary. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan, 2006.
- First and Second Kings. Interpretation. Atlanta: John Knox Press, 1987.
- 1 and 2 Kings. New International Biblical Commentary, Old Testament. Peabody, MA: Hendrickson Publishers, 1995.
- I & II Kings: A Commentary. Old Testament Library. Louisville, KY: Westminster John Knox Press, 2007.
- 1 Kings. Berit Olam. Collegeville, MN: Liturgical Press, 1996.
- 1 and 2 Kings. Tyndale Old Testament Commentaries. Leicester, England: InterVarsity Press, 1993.