Commentary Guide
Call Number Regions
Major Commentaries on Joshua
Joshua, Judges, and Ruth (Daily Study Bible) by
Ever question what may have been meant by the statement, "You are Peter and on this rock..."? Are you puzzled by the cursing of the fig tree by Jesus or by his comments about moving mountains? William Barclay discusses these and many other interesting matters in this second volume of the Gospel of Matthew. Readers will profit by the depth of scholarship, the honesty of appraisal, and the grace of style with which Dr. Barclay deals with difficult topics such as marriage and divorce or the danger of riches. With a lively translation and engaging commentary, Barclay's comments on the latter portion of Matthew's Gospel are great for daily readings. Millions of readers have found The Daily Study Biblecommentaries the ideal help for both devotional reading and serious Bible study. The complete New Testament series furnishes a comprehensive commentary and devotional study guide for individuals or groups who want to discover what the message of the New Testament really means for their lives.
Call Number: BS1295.3 .A94 1984ISBN: 0664245765Publication Date: 1985
Joshua (Word Biblical Commentary) [2 vols.] by
Trent C. Butler's excellent commentary on Joshua is updated and revised. This new edition takes into account the most recent scholarly work on the book of Joshua. The commentary includes Butler's translation of the text, explanatory notes, and commentary to help any professor, student, or pastor with research and writing. Features include: -solid biblical scholarship for teachers, pastors, and students -updated bibliography commentary for deeper study -thorough coverage of the biblical languages -close analysis of ancient manuscripts of Joshua The Word Biblical Commentary series offers the best in critical scholarship firmly committed to the authority of Scripture as divine revelation. It is perfect for scholars, students of the Bible, ministers, and anyone who wants a theological understanding of Scripture.
Call Number: BS1295.3 .B87 2014 v.1-2ISBN: 9780785252689Publication Date: 2014
Commentaries on the Book of Joshua (Calvin’s Commentaries) by Call Number: BS491 .C2813 1981 v.4ISBN: 0801024404Publication Date: 1974
Joshua (Berit Olam) by
What does Joshua hold to be the essential marks of Israelite identity? What distinguishes Israel from all other peoples? In tracking these themes, L. Daniel Hawk reveals in Joshua a profound struggle to define the people of the God of Israel. Hawk shows that the themes surrounding Joshua express fundamental markers of national identity: religious practice (obedience to the commandments of Moses), ethnic separation (extermination of the peoples of Canaan), and possession of land ("the land that YHWH gives"). Through the medium of narrative, Joshua tests each of these markers and demonstrates that none clearly characterize the people of God. Instead, Joshua presents Israel as a nation fundamentally constituted by choosing: YHWH's choosing of Israel and Israel's choosing of YHWH. In the present day in which ideologies of religion, race, and territorial possession have given rise to countless expressions of violence, Hawk expresses the particular value of reading Joshua. The Joshua story holds a mirror up to all who regard themselves as the people of God. The reflection is both repelling and inspiring but until we confront it, what it truly means to be the chosen people of God will remain elusive. Chapters are "Rights of Passage (1:1-18)," "Who's Who in the Promised Land? (2:1-12:24)," "Strangers in the Night (2:1-24)," "Changing State (3:1-4:24)," "First Things First (5:1-15)," "Going in Circles (6:1-27)," "Ai Spy (7:1-8:35)," "Foiled Again (9:1-10:27)," "Conquering Canaanites (10:28-12:24)," "Organizing Israel (13:1-21:45)," "Altar Egos (22:1-34)," "Unfinished Business (23:1-18)," and "Decisions, Decisions (24:1-33)." Includes twelve charts that lay out structural features of the book.
Call Number: BS1295.3 .H352 2000ISBN: 9780814650424Publication Date: 2000
Joshua (Tyndale Old Testament Commentaries) by
The book of Joshua memorializes a transitional episode in Israel's national history. The heroic figure Joshua, imbued with strength, courage and faith, leads the new generation of Israel across the Jordan into the land of promise. Richard S. Hess explores the historical, theological and literary dimensions of the book of Joshua.
Call Number: BS1295.3 .H47 1996ISBN: 0877842566Publication Date: 1996
Joshua (New American Commentary) by
The book of Joshua forms the logical end point for much of the Pentateuch. It shows how Israel came to possess the land God had promised centuries before to Abraham and how God was faithful to his promises. It also portrays God's demands that his covenant people forsake all other allegiances and follow him only and completely. The New American Commentary is for those who have been seeking a commentary that honors the Scriptures, represents the finest in contemporary evangelical scholarship and lends itself to the practical work of preaching and teaching. This series serves a minister's friend and a student's guide. The New American Commentary assumes the inerrancy of Scripture, focuses on the intrinsic theological and exegetical concerns of each biblical book, and engages the range of issues raised in contemporary biblical scholarship. Drawing on the knowledge and skills of over forty scholars and encompassing forty volumes, the NAC brings together scholarship and piety to produce a tool that enhances and supports the life of the church.
Call Number: BS1295.3 .H68 1998ISBN: 0805401059Publication Date: 1998
Joshua (NIV Application Commentary) by
The NIV Application Commentary helps you communicate and apply biblical text effectively in today's context. The book of Joshua recounts major transitions in the lives of God's chosen people and speaks of subjects that are difficult to comprehend, such as war and ethnic cleansing. Robert Hubbard navigates through these chapters, probing beneath the surface of the biblical text to apply the timeless themes of the book of Joshua to our lives in the twenty-first century. To bring the ancient messages of the Bible into today's context, each passage is treated in three sections: Original Meaning. Concise exegesis to help the reader understand the original meaning of the biblical text in its historical, literary, and cultural context. Bridging Contexts. A bridge between the world of the Bible and the world of today, between the original context and the contemporary context, built by discerning what is timeless in the timely pages of the Bible. Contemporary Significance. This section identifies situations that are comparable to those faced by the original audience and explores personal, cultural, and societal applications of the passage to those situations. The author also alerts the reader to problems they may encounter when seeking to apply the passage and helps them think through the issues involved. This unique, award-winning commentary is the ideal resource for today's preachers, teachers, and serious students of the Bible, giving them the tools, ideas, and insights, they need to communicate God's Word with the same powerful impact it had when it was first written.
Call Number: BS1295.3 .H833 2009ISBN: 9780310209348Publication Date: 2009
Joshua, Judges, Ruth (Biblical Commentary on the Old Testament) by
"Keil and Delitzsch's "Commentary on the Old Testament" is a classic of the nineteenth century. It is popular with conservatives because of its theology. But its sharp insights mean it is by no means just conservatives who find it helpful--it is not uncommon, for example, to see it cited in the bibliography of an academic study. It is therefore welcome that Hendrickson have made it available in a lightly corrected version."
--"Anvil"
Call Number: BS1225.3 .K413 1956 v.3ISBN: 0913573884Publication Date: 1996
Joshua (Old Testament Library) by
The book of Joshua has many textual problems--primarily differences between the Hebrew and Greek texts. Much of the inconsistency stems from the varied forms of storytelling in the book, including the war narratives, folktales, sermons, and city lists. In this commentary, now available in a new casebound edition, Richard D. Nelson addresses Joshua's textual issues while offering historical, literary, and theological insights. The Old Testament Library provides fresh and authoritative treatments of important aspects of Old Testament study through commentaries and general surveys. The contributors are scholars of international standing.
Call Number: BS1295.3 .N45 1997ISBN: 0664219411Publication Date: 1997
Book of Joshua (New International Commentary on the Old Testament) by
Woudstra's work on the Book of Joshua is a contribution to The New International Commentary on the Old Testament. Like its companion series on the New Testament, this commentary devotes considerable care to achieving a balance between technical information and homiletic-devotional interpretation.
Call Number: BS1295.3 .W68 1981ISBN: 9780802825254Publication Date: 1981
- Commentaries on the Book of Joshua (Calvin’s Commentaries) by ISBN: 0801024404
- Joshua, Judges, Ruth (Biblical Commentary on the Old Testament) by
"Keil and Delitzsch's "Commentary on the Old Testament" is a classic of the nineteenth century. It is popular with conservatives because of its theology. But its sharp insights mean it is by no means just conservatives who find it helpful--it is not uncommon, for example, to see it cited in the bibliography of an academic study. It is therefore welcome that Hendrickson have made it available in a lightly corrected version."
--"Anvil"
ISBN: 0913573884
Joshua (Tyndale Old Testament Commentaries) by
The book of Joshua memorializes a transitional episode in Israel's national history. The heroic figure Joshua, imbued with strength, courage and faith, leads the new generation of Israel across the Jordan and into the land of promise, conquering Canaanites and overseeing the allotment of the inheritance among the tribes.But the book of Joshua is foremost a story of God, who works powerfully on behalf of Israel and Joshua, fulfilling his covenant promises. It is God who leads Israel across the Jordan, God who defeats Israel's enemies and God who presides over the apportionment of the land. And so in the final chapter it is God who receives Israel's worshipful recommitment at Shechem.In this Tyndale Old Testament Commentary, Richard S. Hess explores these historical, theological and literary dimensions of the book of Joshua. An exceptional feature of his commentary is his careful consideration of the allocation of the Promised Land and the boundary lists the book of Joshua so prominently displays. And in a day when grave doubts have been raised over the historicity of the "conquest" story, Hess presents historical and archaeological evidence for placing the events of Joshua in the late second millennium B.C.The original, unrevised text of this volume has been completely retypeset and printed in a larger, more attractive format with the new cover design for the series.
ISBN: 9780830842063Publication Date: 2008
Joshua (Old Testament Library) by
Richard D. Nelson addresses the textual problems critical to a full understanding of Joshua and offers historical, literary, and theological insights in this balanced commentary. The Old Testament Library provides fresh and authoritative treatments of important aspects of Old Testament study through commentaries and general surveys. The contributors are scholars of international standing.
ISBN: 9780664226664Publication Date: 1997- Book of Joshua (New International Commentary on the Old Testament) by
Woudstra's work on the Book of Joshua is a contribution to The New International Commentary on the Old Testament. Like its companion series on the New Testament, this commentary devotes considerable care to achieving a balance between technical information and homiletic-devotional interpretation.
ISBN: 9780802825254Publication Date: 1981
- Joshua Commentaries in the E-Book CatalogDiscover many more e-book commentaries on Joshua.
- Joshua, Judges, and Ruth. Daily Study Bible. Philadelphia: Westminster Press, 1984.
- Joshua. Word Biblical Commentary. Waco, TX: Word Books, 1983.
- Commentaries on the Book of Joshua. Translated by Henry Beveridge. Calvin’s Commentaries. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 1949.
- Joshua. Berit Olam. Collegeville, MN: Liturgical Press, 2000.
- Joshua: An Introduction and Commentary. Tyndale Old Testament Commentaries. Downers Grove, IL: IVP Academic, 2008.
- Joshua. New American Commentary. Nashville, TN: Broadman & Holman Publishers, 1998.
- Joshua. NIV Application Commentary. Grand Rapids, MI: Zondervan, 2009.
- Joshua, Judges, Ruth. Translated by James Martin. Biblical Commentary on the Old Testament. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 1956.
- Joshua: A Commentary. Old Testament Library. Louisville, KY: Westminster John Knox Press, 1997.
- The Book of Joshua. New International Commentary on the Old Testament. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans, 1981.