Faculty Publications
A guide to publications produced by the faculty of Covenant Theological Seminary.
Books
-
-
Romans-Galatians (ESV Expository Commentary)
by
Call Number: BS2665.3 .R6633 2020Publication Date: 2020Yarbrough authored the commentary on Romans in this volume. -
Clash of Visions: Populism and Elitism in New Testament Theology
by
Call Number: BS2350 .Y37 2019Publication Date: 2019 -
The Letters to Timothy and Titus (Pillar New Testament Commentary)
by
Call Number: BS2735.3 .Y37 2018Publication Date: 2018 -
-
The Kregel Pictorial Guide to the New Testament
by
Call Number: BS2330.3 .Y37 2009Publication Date: 2009 -
1-3 John (Baker Exegetical Commentary on the New Testament)
by
Call Number: BS2805.3 .Y37 2008Publication Date: 2008 -
The Salvation-Historical Fallacy? Reassessing the History of New Testament Theology
by
Call Number: BS2397 .Y37 2004Publication Date: 2004 -
Readings from the First-Century World: Primary Sources for New Testament Study
by
Call Number: BR167 .R43 1998Publication Date: 1998 -
The Heilsgeschichtliche Perspective in Modern New Testament Theology
by
Call Number: BS2397 .Y373 1985aPublication Date: 1985Yarbrough's Ph.D. thesis for the University of Aberdeen.
-
Encountering the New Testament 4th ed.
by
Publication Date: 2022 -
Romans-Galatians (ESV Expository Commentary)
by
Publication Date: 2020Yarbrough authored the commentary on Romans in this volume.
-
Encountering the New Testament
by
Publication Date: 2013 -
John
by
Publication Date: 2011 -
1-3 John (Baker Exegetical Commentary on the New Testament)
by
Publication Date: 2008
-
The Heilsgeschichtliche Perspective in Modern New Testament Theology
by
Publication Date: 1985Yarbrough's Ph.D. thesis for the University of Aberdeen.
Book Chapters
-
Hearing and Doing the Word
by
Call Number: BS476 .H38 2023Publication Date: 2023Yarbrough authored chapter 6, "Martyrdom: Martin Albertz's Neglected New Testament Theology and the Importance of a Theological Category." -
God's Glory Revealed in Christ: Essays on Biblical Theology in Honor of Thomas R. Schreiner
by
Call Number: BS543 .G63 2019Publication Date: 2019Yarbrough authored chapter 4, "Salvation History." -
Paul As Pastor
by
Call Number: BS2655.P3 P38 2018Publication Date: 2018Yarbrough authored chapter 11, "Paul as Working Pastor: Exposing an Open Ethical Secret." -
The Gospel of John in Modern Interpretation
by
Call Number: BS2615.2 .G678 2018Publication Date: 2018Yarbrough authored the chapter "Adolf Schlatter's Contribution to Interpretation of the Fourth Gospel." -
The Letter to the Romans: Exegesis and Application
by
Call Number: BS2665.2 .L486 2018Publication Date: 2018Yarbrough authored chapter 3, "Deliverance and Demographics: The Pastoral Riches of 'Romans Righteousness' (Romans 1-4)." -
Women in the Church: An Interpretation and Application of 1 Timothy 2:9-15
by
Call Number: BS2745.6.W65 W65 2016Publication Date: 2016Yarbrough authored chapter 5, "Familiar Paths and a Fresh Matrix: The Hermeneutics of 1 Timothy 2:9-15." -
Studies in the Pauline Epistles: Essays in Honor of Douglas J. Moo
by
Call Number: BS2650.2 .S783 2014Publication Date: 2014Yarbrough authored the chapter "Salvation History (Heilsgeschichte) and Paul: Comments on a Disputed but Essential Category." -
Adam, the Fall, and Original Sin: Theological, Biblical, and Scientific Perspectives
by
Call Number: BT720 .A33 2014Publication Date: 2014Yarbrough authored chapter 2, "Adam in the New Testament." -
Fallen: A Theology of Sin
by
Call Number: BT715 .F35 2013Publication Date: 2013Yarbrough authored chapter 4, "Sin in the Gospels, Acts, and Hebrews to Revelation." -
On the Writing of New Testament Commentaries: Festschrift for Grant R. Osborne on the Occasion of His 70th Birthday
by
Call Number: BS2341.2 .O62 2013Publication Date: 2013Yarbrough authored the chapter "The Pastoral Relevance of Commentaries." -
Did God Really Say? Affirming the Truthfulness and Trustworthiness of Scripture
by
Call Number: BS480 .P69 2011Publication Date: 2012Yarbrough authored the chapter "Inerrancy's Complexities: Grounds for Grace in the Debate." -
The Kingdom of God
by
Call Number: BT94 .K49 2012Publication Date: 2012Yarbrough authored chapter 4, "The Kingdom of God in the New Testament: Matthew and Revelation," and chapter 5, "The Kingdom of God in the New Testament: Mark through the Epistles." -
Do Historical Matters Matter to Faith? A Critical Appraisal of Modern and Postmodern Approaches to Scripture
by
Call Number: BS635 .D56 2012Publication Date: 2012Yarbrough authored chapter 14, "God's Word in Human Form: Form-Critical Reflections." -
Understanding the Times: New Testament Studies in the 21st Century: Essays in Honor of D. A. Carson on the Occasion of His 65th Birthday
by
Call Number: BS2361.3 .U53 2011Publication Date: 2011Yabrough edited this volume and authored chapter 9, "New Testament Studies in Africa," and chapter 12, "New Testament Studies in Europe." -
New Testament Theology in Light of the Church's Mission: Essays in Honor of I. Howard Marshall
by
Call Number: BS2397 .N49 2011Publication Date: 2011Yarbrough authored chapter 18, "Schlatter on the Pastorals: Mission in the Academy." -
Suffering and the Goodness of God
by
Call Number: BS680.S854 S84 2008Publication Date: 2008Yarbrough authored chapter 1, "Christ and Crocodiles: Suffering and the Goodness of God in Contemporary Perspective." -
Justification and Variegated Nomism (Vol. 2)
by
Call Number: BM176 .J87 2001 v.2Publication Date: 2004Yarbrough authored the chapter "Paul and Salvation History." -
Hell under Fire: Modern Scholarship Reinvents Eternal Punishment
by
Call Number: BT836.3 .H45 2004Publication Date: 2004Yarbrough authored chapter 3, "Jesus on Hell." -
Still Sovereign: Contemporary Perspectives on Election, Foreknowledge, and Grace
by
Call Number: BT761.2 .G695 2000Publication Date: 2000Yarbrough authored chapter 2, "Divine Election in the Gospel of John." -
Bible Interpreters of the Twentieth Century: A Selection of Evangelical Voices
by
Call Number: BS501.A1 B53 1999Publication Date: 1999Yarbrough authored the chapter "Adolf Schlatter." -
The Theology of the Apostles: The Development of New Testament Theology
by
Call Number: BS2618 .S3313 1999Publication Date: 1999Yarbrough authored the concluding essay, "Modern Reception of Schlatter's New Testament Theology." -
The Jesus Crisis: The Inroads of Historical Criticism into Evangelical Scholarship
by
Call Number: BS520 .J47 1998Publication Date: 1998Yarbrough authored chapter 4, "Eta Linnemann: Friend or Foe of Scholarship?"
-
God's Glory Revealed in Christ: Essays on Biblical Theology in Honor of Thomas R. Schreiner
by
Publication Date: 2019Yarbrough authored chapter 4, "Salvation History."
-
The Letter to the Romans: Exegesis and Application
by
Publication Date: 2018Yarbrough authored chapter 3, "Deliverance and Demographics: The Pastoral Riches of 'Romans Righteousness' (Romans 1-4)."
-
Women in the Church: An Interpretation and Application of 1 Timothy 2:9-15
by
Publication Date: 2016Yarbrough authored chapter 5, "Familiar Paths and a Fresh Matrix: The Hermeneutics of 1 Timothy 2:9-15."
-
Adam, the Fall, and Original Sin: Theological, Biblical, and Scientific Perspectives
by
Publication Date: 2014Yarbrough authored chapter 2, "Adam in the New Testament."
-
Fallen: A Theology of Sin
by
Publication Date: 2013Yarbrough authored chapter 4, "Sin in the Gospels, Acts, and Hebrews to Revelation."
-
The Kingdom of God
by
Publication Date: 2012Yarbrough authored chapter 4, "The Kingdom of God in the New Testament: Matthew and Revelation," and chapter 5, "The Kingdom of God in the New Testament: Mark through the Epistles."
-
Do Historical Matters Matter to Faith? A Critical Appraisal of Modern and Postmodern Approaches to Scripture
by
Publication Date: 2012Yarbrough authored chapter 14, "God's Word in Human Form: Form-Critical Reflections."
-
Understanding the Times: New Testament Studies in the 21st Century: Essays in Honor of D. A. Carson on the Occasion of His 65th Birthday
by
Publication Date: 2011Yabrough edited this volume and authored chapter 9, "New Testament Studies in Africa," and chapter 12, "New Testament Studies in Europe."
-
Suffering and the Goodness of God
by
Publication Date: 2008Yarbrough authored chapter 1, "Christ and Crocodiles: Suffering and the Goodness of God in Contemporary Perspective."
-
Still Sovereign: Contemporary Perspectives on Election, Foreknowledge, and Grace
by
Publication Date: 2000Yarbrough authored chapter 2, "Divine Election in the Gospel of John."
Encyclopedia & Dictionary Entries
-
Evangelical Dictionary of Theology
by
Call Number: BR95 .E87 2017Publication Date: 2017Yarbrough authored the entries, "Consistent Eschatology," "Heilsgeschichte," "History of Religion School," "Jesus Seminar," "Myth of God Incarnate Debate," and "New Age Movement." -
Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception
by
Call Number: BS500 .E539 2009 v.3Publication Date: 2011Yarbrough authored the entry, “Biblical Criticism - Modern America" (Vol.3). -
Dictionary of Major Biblical Interpreters
by
Call Number: BS501.A1 H57 2007Publication Date: 2007Yarbrough authored the entries on "Godet, Frederic Louis (1812-1900)," "Schlatter, Adolf (1852-1938)" and "Stuart, Moses (1780-1852)." -
Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible
by
Call Number: BS440 .D495 2005Publication Date: 2005Yarbrough authored the entry, "Tubingen School." -
Hebrews to Revelation (Zondervan Illustrated Bible Backgrounds Commentary)
by
Call Number: BS2341.2 .Z66 2002 v.4Publication Date: 2002Yarbrough authored the entries on the "Johannine Epistles." -
Evangelical Dictionary of Christian Education
by
Call Number: BV1461 .E93 2001Publication Date: 2001Yarbrough authored the entry, "Quest for the Historical Jesus." -
The Dictionary of Historical Theology
by
Call Number: BT21.2 .D53 2000Publication Date: 2000Yarbrough authored the entry "Schlatter, Adolf (1852-1938)." -
New Dictionary of Biblical Theology
by
Call Number: BS440 .N437 2000Publication Date: 2000Yarbrough authored the entries on "Atonement," "Forgiveness and Reconciliation," and "Revelation." -
Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology
by
Call Number: BS440 .E78 1996Publication Date: 1996Yarbrough authored the entries on "Biblical Theology," "Eternal, Eternity," "Paul the Apostle," "Perfect, Perfection,"; and "God," "Lord," "Only Begotten," under "Jesus Christ, Names of." -
New 20th-Century Encyclopedia of Religious Knowledge
by
Call Number: BR95 .S242 1991Publication Date: 1991Yarbrough authored the entry on "Resurrection." -
The Baker Encyclopedia of the Bible
by
Call Number: BS440 .B26 1988 v.2Publication Date: 1988Yarbrough authored the entry on "Redaction Criticism."
-
Evangelical Dictionary of Theology
by
Publication Date: 2017Yarbrough authored the entries, "Consistent Eschatology," "Heilsgeschichte," "History of Religion School," "Jesus Seminar," "Myth of God Incarnate Debate," and "New Age Movement."
-
Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception
by
Publication Date: 2011Yarbrough authored the entry, “Biblical Criticism - Modern America" (Vol.3).
-
Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible
by
Publication Date: 2005Yarbrough authored the entry, "Tubingen School."
-
Evangelical Dictionary of Christian Education
by
Publication Date: 2001Yarbrough authored the entry, "Quest for the Historical Jesus."
-
The Dictionary of Historical Theology
by
Publication Date: 2000Yarbrough authored the entry "Schlatter, Adolf (1852-1938)."
-
New 20th-Century Encyclopedia of Religious Knowledge
by
Publication Date: 1991Yarbrough authored the entry on "Resurrection."
-
The Baker Encyclopedia of the Bible
by
ISBN: 9780801034473Publication Date: 1988Yarbrough authored the entry on "Redaction Criticism."
-
Great Lives from History: Ancient and Mediaeval Series by
Publication Date: 1988Yarbrough authored the entry on "Saint Thomas."
Translations
-
Do We Know Jesus? Daily Insights for the Mind and Soul
by
Call Number: BV4832.3 .S3513 2005Publication Date: 2005 -
Biblical Criticism on Trial: How Scientific is "Scientific Theology"?
by
Call Number: BS2364.2 .L5613 2001Publication Date: 2001 -
Adolf Schlatter: A Biography of Germany's Premier Biblical Theologian
by
Call Number: BS2351.S3 N4813 1996Publication Date: 1995 -
-
-
Historical Criticism of the Bible: Methodology or Ideology?
by
Call Number: BT1102 .L4913 1990Publication Date: 1990
-
Is There a Synoptic Problem?
by
Publication Date: 1992