Faculty Publications
A guide to publications produced by the faculty of Covenant Theological Seminary.
Books
-
Ephesians-Philemon (ESV Expository Commentary)
by
Call Number: BS2635.3 .E644 2018Publication Date: 2018Chapman authored the commentaries on 1 & 2 Thessalonians in this volume. -
ESV Archaeology Study Bible
by
Call Number: BS195 .E64 2017bPublication Date: 2017Chapman edited this volume and contributed to the Introduction, study notes, and an article, "The Roman Empire and the Greco-Roman World." -
The Trial and Crucifixion of Jesus: Texts and Commentary
by
Call Number: BT431.3 .C437 2015Publication Date: 2015 -
-
Ancient Jewish and Christian Perceptions of Crucifixion
by
Call Number: HV8569 .C53 2010Publication Date: 2010This is a substantial revision of Chapman's Ph.D. thesis. -
Perceptions of Crucifixion Among Jews and Christians in the Ancient World
by
Call Number: HV8569 .C52 2000Publication Date: 2000Chapman's Ph.D. thesis for St. Edmund's College, University of Cambridge.
-
Ephesians-Philemon (ESV Expository Commentary)
by
ISBN: 9781433546686Publication Date: 2018Chapman authored the commentaries on 1 & 2 Thessalonians in this volume.
Book Chapters
-
Understanding Scripture
by
Call Number: BS475.3 .U52 2011Publication Date: 2011Chapman authored chapter 14, "Archaeology and the Reliability of the New Testament." -
All for Jesus: A Celebration of the 50th Anniversary of Covenant Theological Seminary
by
Call Number: BV4070 .C689 2006Publication Date: 2006Chapman authored chapter 6, "The Great Commission as the Conclusion of Matthew's Gospel." -
Beyond the Jordan: Studies in Honor of W. Harold Mare
by
Call Number: BS413 .B49 2005Publication Date: 2005Chapman authored the chapter, "Crucifixion, Bodily Suspension, and Jewish Interpretations of the Hebrew Bible in Antiquity." -
Marriage and Family in the Biblical World
by
Call Number: HQ505 .M34 2003Publication Date: 2003Chapman authored the chapter, "Marriage and Family in Second Temple Judaism."
-
Understanding Scripture
by
Publication Date: 2012Chapman authored chapter 14, "Archaeology and the Reliability of the New Testament."
Encyclopedia & Dictionary Entries
-
T&T Clark Encyclopedia of Second Temple Judaism Volumes I and II
by
Call Number: BM176 .T25 2020 v.1-2Publication Date: 2020Chapman authored the entry on "Crucifixion." -
Crucifixion (Oxford Bibliographies in Biblical Studies) by
Publication Date: 2018An annotated bibliography of works on the crucifixion. -
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels
by
Call Number: BS2555.2 .D53 2013Publication Date: 2013Chapman authored the entry “Burial of Jesus." -
The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism
by
Call Number: BM50 .E34 2010Publication Date: 2010Chapman authored the entry on "Family." -
Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception
by
Call Number: BS500 .E539 2009 v.1-19Publication Date: 2009 -Chapman authored the entries, “Abila" (Vol.1), “Crucifixion. II. Judaism,” “Crucifixion. III. NT” (Vol. 5), and “Hanging and Impalement. Hebrew Bible/Old Testament” (Vol. 11). -
The Complete Bible Handbook
by
Call Number: BS475.2 .B69 1998Publication Date: 1998Chapman authored the entries “The Book of Joel” and “Apocrypha Fiction (Judith, Susanna, Bel and the Dragon, Tobit)."
-
Publication Date: 2018An annotated bibliography of works dealing with the crucifixion.
-
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Ethics
by
Publication Date: 2014Chapman authored the entry on "Crucifixion." -
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels
by
Publication Date: 2013Chapman authored the entry “Burial of Jesus."
-
Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception
by
Publication Date: 2009 -Chapman authored the entries, “Abila" (Vol.1), “Crucifixion. II. Judaism,” “Crucifixion. III. NT” (Vol. 5), and “Hanging and Impalement. Hebrew Bible/Old Testament” (Vol. 11).
-
The Complete Bible Handbook
by
Publication Date: 1998Chapman authored the entries “The Book of Joel” and “Apocrypha Fiction (Judith, Susanna, Bel and the Dragon, Tobit)."
