Church History
This guide is intended to aid those looking for resources on the various stages of the history of the church.
Reference Works
Dictionary of the Presbyterian and Reformed Tradition in America by Call Number: BX8909 .D53 1999ISBN: 0830814531Publication Date: 1999Expanding upon the Dictionary of Christianity in America, this work covers the ideas, events, people, movements, practices, institutions, and denominations that have made up the Presbyterian and Reformed tradition.
Historical Dictionary of the Reformed Churches by Call Number: BX9406 .B46 2010ISBN: 9780810858077Publication Date: 20010Includes biographical, historical, and theological articles and covers the Reformed tradition from the Reformation through the beginning of the 21th century, though its focus is the modern world of the Reformed tradition. It includes an extensive bibliography, and it focuses on the Reformed tradition as a multicultural, multiethnic, and multinational phenomenon.
Encyclopedia of the Reformed Faith by Call Number: BX9406 .E56 1992ISBN: 0664218822Publication Date: 1992This work “provides a picture of the major events, persons, and theological understandings of the Reformed Faith... it seeks to provide a circle of knowledge… indicating how events, persons, and concepts have been particularly significant in the Reformed heritage.” (preface)
Historical Dictionary of Calvinism by Call Number: BX9406 .P53 2012ISBN: 9780810872240Publication Date: 2012Contains helpful entries on terminology, persons, periods, and events of the Calvinist tradition. It includes an helpful introductory essay and and extensive bibliography.
The Westminster Handbook to Reformed Theology by Call Number: BX9406 .W47 2001ISBN: 066422430XPublication Date: 2001The entries in this handbook are drawn from McKim's earlier "Encyclopedia of the Reformed Faith." Excluding entries on the persons and events of the Reformed faith, it provides definitions of terminology associated with the tradition.
- Dictionary of the Presbyterian and Reformed Tradition in America by ISBN: 0830814531Publication Date: 1999Expanding upon the Dictionary of Christianity in America, this work covers the ideas, events, people, movements, practices, institutions, and denominations that have made up the Presbyterian and Reformed tradition.
- Encyclopedia of the Reformed Faith by ISBN: 0664218822Publication Date: 1992This work “provides a picture of the major events, persons, and theological understandings of the Reformed Faith... it seeks to provide a circle of knowledge… indicating how events, persons, and concepts have been particularly significant in the Reformed heritage.” (preface)
- Historical Dictionary of Calvinism by ISBN: 9780810872240Publication Date: 2012Contains helpful entries on terminology, persons, periods, and events of the Calvinist tradition. It includes an helpful introductory essay and and extensive bibliography.
- The Westminster Handbook to Reformed Theology by ISBN: 066422430XPublication Date: 2001The entries in this handbook are drawn from McKim's earlier "Encyclopedia of the Reformed Faith." Excluding entries on the persons and events of the Reformed faith, it provides definitions of terminology associated with the tradition.
Surveys
The Oxford Handbook of the Protestant Reformations by Call Number: BR305.3 .O93 2017ISBN: 9780199646920Publication Date: 2017
The Presbyterian Story: Origins and Progress of a Reformed Tradition by Call Number: BX8931.3 .F678 2017ISBN: 9781532616464Publication Date: 2017
Reformed and Evangelical Across Four Centuries by Call Number: BX8935 .F45 2022ISBN: 9780802873408Publication Date: 2022
A Brief History of the Presbyterians by Call Number: BX8935 .S56 1996ISBN: 0664500013Publication Date: 1996
Christ's Churches Purely Reformed: A Social History of Calvinism by Call Number: BX9415 .B47 2002ISBN: 0300088124Publication Date: 2002
The Oxford Handbook of Calvin and Calvinism by Call Number: BX9418 .O94 2021ISBN: 9780198728818Publication Date: 2021
The Oxford Handbook of Reformed Theology by Call Number: BX9422.3 .O947 2020ISBN: 9780198723912Publication Date: 2020
- The Presbyterian Story: Origins and Progress of a Reformed Tradition by ISBN: 9781532616464Publication Date: 2017
- Christ's Churches Purely Reformed: A Social History of Calvinism by ISBN: 0300088124Publication Date: 2002
PCA History
By His grace, for His glory: 50 Years of God's Faithfulness by Call Number: BV4070 .C688 2006Publication Date: 2006
All for Jesus: A Celebration of the 50th Anniversary of Covenant Theological Seminary by Call Number: BV4070 .C689 2006ISBN: 9781845501396Publication Date: 2006Includes an excellent chapter by David B. Calhoun on the history of Covenant Theological Seminary.
For a Continuing Church: The Roots of the Presbyterian Church in America by Call Number: BX8968.52 .L825 2015ISBN: 9781629951065Publication Date: 2015The definitive history of the PCA.
The Historical Birth of the Presbyterian Church in America by Call Number: BX8968.52 .R53 1987Publication Date: 1987
To God all Praise and Glory: Under God: Celebrating the Past, Claiming the Future, the Presbyterian Church in America by Call Number: BX8968.52 .S48 1998Publication Date: 1998
I am Reminded: An Autobiographical, Anecdotal History of the Presbyterian Church in America by Call Number: BX8968.52 .S62 1998Publication Date: 1998
The History of the Presbyterian Church in America by Call Number: BX8968.52 .S63 1999ISBN: 096769910XPublication Date: 1999
