Church History
This guide is intended to aid those looking for resources on the various stages of the history of the church.
Reference Works
The Ante-Nicene Fathers by Call Number: BR60 .A5 v.1-10ISBN: 9781565630826Publication Date: 1953English translations of the writings of the Apostolic Fathers prior to AD 325. Volume nine is a bibliographical synopsis (listing of the editions, translations, and literature on all the works included) and a general index to the set.
The Apostolic Fathers by Call Number: BR60 .A62 2007ISBN: 9780801034688Publication Date: 2007Following the recent publication of his revised translations in The Apostolic Fathers in English, 3rd ed., Michael Holmes, a leading expert on these texts, offers a thoroughly revised and redesigned bilingual edition, featuring Greek (or Latin) and English on facing pages. Introductions and bibliographies are generous and up to date. In the textual apparatus, existing notes have been revised and expanded, and well over two hundred new notes have been added. - From the Publisher
A Select Library of the Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers of the Christian Church (1st Series) by Call Number: BR60 .N4 v.1-14ISBN: 9781565630949Publication Date: 1952-63Includes English translations of the most important works of Greek Fathers from Eusebius to Photius, and of the Latin Fathers from Ambrose to Gregory the Great. It lacks a general index, but has subject and scripture indexes in each volume.
A Select Library of Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers of the Christian Church (2nd series) by Call Number: BR60 .S4 v.1-14ISBN: 9781565631168Publication Date: 1952-63
A Dictionary of Early Christian Beliefs by Call Number: BR66.5 .D53 1998ISBN: 9781565638709Publication Date: 1998A compilation of excerpts from the ante-Nicene church fathers on more than 700 moral, theological, and historical topics. It offers brief definitions of unfamiliar terms and concepts as well as short biographies of the ante-Nicene church fathers.
Its inclusion of the relevant biblical texts to the topics allows it to serve as a topical concordance to the Scriptures as well as a topical index to the writings of the ante-Nicene fathers.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity by Call Number: BR66.5 .D5813 2014 v.1-3ISBN: 9780830829439Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity by Call Number: BR162.2 .E53 1997 v.1-2ISBN: 0815316631Publication Date: 1997A comprehensive treatment of the development of Christianity from the life of Christ to AD 600. The entries describe persons, places, doctrines, practices, art, liturgy, heresies, and schisms of the early church. Articles are non-technical and designed for general readers.
- The Ante-Nicene Fathers by Call Number: BR60 .A5 v.1-10ISBN: 9781565630826Publication Date: 1953English translations of the writings of the Apostolic Fathers prior to AD 325. Volume nine is a bibliographical synopsis (listing of the editions, translations, and literature on all the works included) and a general index to the set.
- A Select Library of the Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers of the Christian Church (1st Series) by ISBN: 9781565630949Publication Date: 1952-63Includes English translations of the most important works of Greek Fathers from Eusebius to Photius, and of the Latin Fathers from Ambrose to Gregory the Great. It lacks a general index, but has subject and scripture indexes in each volume.
- A Select Library of Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers of the Christian Church (2nd series) by ISBN: 9781565631168Publication Date: 1952-63
- A Dictionary of Early Christian Beliefs by ISBN: 9781565638709Publication Date: 1998A compilation of excerpts from the ante-Nicene church fathers on more than 700 moral, theological, and historical topics. It offers brief definitions of unfamiliar terms and concepts as well as short biographies of the ante-Nicene church fathers.
Its inclusion of the relevant biblical texts to the topics allows it to serve as a topical concordance to the Scriptures as well as a topical index to the writings of the ante-Nicene fathers. - Encyclopedia of Early Christianity by ISBN: 0815316631Publication Date: 1997A comprehensive treatment of the development of Christianity from the life of Christ to AD 600. The entries describe persons, places, doctrines, practices, art, liturgy, heresies, and schisms of the early church. Articles are non-technical and designed for general readers.
Surveys
The Story of Christianity: Volume 1 by Call Number: BR142 .G66 2010 v.1ISBN: 9780061855887Publication Date: 2010
2,000 Years of Christ's Power: The Age of the Early Church Fathers by Call Number: BR145.2 .N44 2016 v.1ISBN: 9781781917787Publication Date: 2016
Church History: From Christ to the Pre-Reformation by Call Number: BR145.3 .F47 2013 v.1ISBN: 9780310516569Publication Date: 2013
The Path of Christianity: The First Thousand Years by Call Number: BR165 .M35 2017ISBN: 9780830840984Publication Date: 2017
Origins to Constantine (Cambridge History of Christianity) by Call Number: BR165 .O66 2006ISBN: 9780521812399Publication Date: 2006
Constantine to C. 600 (Cambridge History of Christianity) by Call Number: BR200 .C66 2007ISBN: 9780521812443Publication Date: 2007
- Origins to Constantine (Cambridge History of Christianity) by ISBN: 9780521812399Publication Date: 2006
- Constantine to C. 600 (Cambridge History of Christianity) by ISBN: 9780521812443Publication Date: 2007