This reference work makes available in one volume the breadth and richness of the theological contributions of the peoples of Africa, Asia, the Caribbean, Latin America, the Pacific, and the minority and indigenous peoples of the world. Entries show how theology from the non-Western world has changed the language and contours of contemporary theology...Contributors include Gustavo Gutierrez, Chung Hyun Kyung, Mercy Amba Oduyoye, Masao Takenaka, Elsa Tamez, Fernando Segovia, Virgilio Elizondo, Laurenti Magesa, Roberto Goizueta, Aloysius Pieris, Leonardo Boff, Ivone Gebara, Maria Pilar Aquino, Clodovis Boff, Ada Maria Isasi-Diaz, Tissa Balasuriya, Eleazar Fernandez and James H. Cone, among many others. - From the Publisher

The Global Dictionary of Theology presumes the contribution of the Western tradition but moves beyond it to embrace and explore a full range of global expressions of theology. It is inspired by the shift of the center of Christianity from the West to the Global South. But it also reflects the increase in two-way traffic between these two sectors as well as the global awareness that has permeated popular culture to an unprecedented degree.The editorial perspective of the Global Dictionary of Theology is an ecumenical evangelicalism that is receptive to discovering new facets of truth through listening and conversation on a global scale.

The World Christian Encyclopedia, now in its 3rd edition, documents the changing status of World Christianity over the past 120 years from historical and social scientific perspectives. It records the continued shift of Christianity to the Global South and contains estimates for religious and nonreligious affiliation in every country of the world, including detail on Christianity to the denominational level. This reference work features comprehensive descriptions of all Christian traditions, including current information on the uniqueness of Christian experiences around the world. - From the Publisher

This dictionary is the first basic reference work for the study of Asian Christianity in the past and at present. Describing Christianity in the region from Pakistan to Japan and from Mongolia to Indonesia, this volume's 1,260 signed articles include biographies of important Asian church leaders as well as reliable, up-to-date information on the political, cultural, and religious movements that have shaped the Christian faith in this part of the world. - From the Publisher

The Oxford Encyclopaedia of South Asian Christianity covers for the first time the 2000-year old story of Christianity in India and its neighbouring countries...Alphabetically arranged, the cross-references and short bibliographies following most entries offer suggestions for further research. It includes a detailed Bibliography. - From the Publisher

Containing nearly 700 articles, this Dictionary allows the reader to explore Eastern Christian civilization in its cultural and religious richness. The articles are written by an international team of fifty contributors, including leading historians, theologians, linguists, philosophers, musicians, and scholars of liturgy and iconography...It offers balanced treatment of Byzantine traditions (Greek, Slav, Romanian, Georgian) and the Oriental traditions (Armenian, Assyrian, Coptic, Ethiopian, Syrian, Indian), taking account of Orthodox, Catholic and Reformed communities. - From the Publisher

This is the first major encyclopedia-type reference work devoted exclusively to Syriac Christianity, both as a field of scholarly inquiry and as the inheritance of Syriac Christians today. In more than 600 entries it covers the Syriac heritage from its beginnings in the first centuries of the Common Era up to the present day. Special attention is given to authors, literary works, scholars, and locations that are associated with the Classical Syriac tradition. Within this tradition, the diversity of Syriac Christianity is highlighted as well as Syriac Christianity’s broader literary and historical contexts, with major entries devoted to Greek and Arabic authors and more general themes, such as Syriac Christianity’s contacts with Judaism and Islam, and with Armenian, Coptic, Ethiopian, and Georgian Christianities. - From the Publisher