Religion Past and Present (RPP) is a complete, updated English translation of the 4th edition of the definitive encyclopedia of religion worldwide, the peerless Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart (RGG). Including the latest developments in research, Religion Past and Present encompasses a vast range of subjects connected with religion. - From the Publisher

A one-volume reference work that covers historical theology (including important events and people in church history) as well as systematic and philosophical theology and theological ethics.

This classic one-volume reference work has been appreciated for decades. It is now substantially expanded and revised to focus on a variety of theological themes, thinkers and movements. From African Christian Theology to Zionism, this volume of historical and systematic theology offers a wealth of information and insight for students, pastors and all thoughtful Christians. - From the Publisher

This encyclopedia’s breadth of scope makes it an excellent Christian encyclopedia, despite its name. It covers many subjects in addition to all aspects of the Catholic Church. Volume 15 is a 600-page index that is necessary for finding specific topics and also includes the list of abbreviations used in the work. Unfortunately, though just updated with the addition of a number of new articles, many of the articles are unchanged from the previous (1967) edition.

This is the standard one-volume reference work for church history. It contains articles covering a broad range of areas (biographical information, definitions of ecclesiastical terms and customs, as well as places, events, movements, and areas of thought). It is especially useful for patristic, medieval, English, and Anglican topics.

Provides up-to-date and immediate, authoritative, and introductory definitions and explanations of the major personalities, events, facts, and movements in the history of Christianity. This volume covers the early, medieval, and Reformation eras. An intended second volume covering the modern period has failed to see publication.

A “rapid reference to those men and women of all denominations who have, over the last two millennia, contributed to the life, history and study of Christianity in all its facets, or in whose lives Christianity has been a significant factor” (book jacket). Its coverage ranges from immediately post-New Testament to the recently deceased and has a global perspective, including coverage of Africa, India, and China as well as Eastern Orthodoxy.

With 314 entries covering the key figures, theological movements, and significant texts that have shaped Christian thought, The Dictionary of Historical Theology traces the doctrinal development of Christianity from the early church to the present. Varying in length from 500 to 15,000 words, these entries treat the intellectual antecedents and of the figures or schools of thought covered as well as their influence on the wider development of the Christian theological tradition. - From the Publisher

Justo Gonzalez has written this book to help students gain just such a quick and basic grasp of the main periods and issues in the history of Christianity. Drawing upon his own extensive experience and that of others, he contends that having been introduced to the essentials of church history in a brief and accessible form, students are then far better able to understand and appreciate what they encounter in more detailed lectures and reading. - Publisher description

Noll isolates key events that provide a framework for understanding the history of Christianity. The book presents Christianity as a worldwide phenomenon rather than just a Western experience. - Publisher description