This work is intended to supplant Harris, Archer, and Waltke’s Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament (TWOT). Includes a lexical dictionary similar to the one found in TWOT, preceded by the “Guide to Old Testament Theology and Exegesis” (11 essays covering introductory topics). A topical dictionary in volume four, giving articles of a more standard Bible dictionary scope follows the lexical dictionary. Volume five consists of indexes of semantic fields, Hebrew words, Scripture, subject, and numbering system (converting Strong’s numbers to Goodrick-Kohlenberger – from the NIV Exhaustive Concordance).

The first of four volumes on the Old Testament intended as companions to the four IVP Dictionaries on the New Testament (New Testament Background, Jesus and the Gospels, Paul and His Letters, and the Later New Testament & its Development). This volume covers the major themes and issues of the Pentateuch (background, methods of interpretation, themes, scholarship, etc.). Includes Scripture, subject, and article indexes.

The history of Israel forms the skeletal structure of the Old Testament. Understanding this history and the biblical books that trace it is essential to comprehending the Bible. The Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books is the only reference book focused exclusively on these biblical books and the history of Israel. - Publisher description

Over ninety contributors, many of them experts in this literature, have contributed to the Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry & Writings, which offers nearly 150 articles covering all the important aspects of Job, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Psalms, Song of Songs, Lamentations, Ruth and Esther. - Publisher description

A true compendium of recent scholarship, the volume includes over 100 articles covering all aspects of Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, the twelve "minor prophets" and Daniel. - Publisher description

This work provides the historical, cultural, and social background information for every passage of the Old Testament. Additional features include a short glossary of historical terms, ancient peoples, texts, and inscriptions; maps and charts of important historical resources; and a short topical index to the work.

Presents a scholarly and critical introduction, in an illustrated presentation, to the books of the Bible. Each book is set in its original historical and social context, and major issues such as translation, chronology, and authorship are presented in detail via a passage-by-passage commentary. - Publisher description

Surveys the hundreds of Old Testament allusions within the Old Testament and provides hermeneutical guidance for interpreting these interrelated scriptures. - Publisher description

Features key articles from Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible, providing readers with a book-by-book theological reading of the Old Testament. The articles are authored by leading scholars and make unique contributions to the study of theological interpretation of Scripture. - Publisher description

Taking a narrative,chronological approach to the text, Waltke employs rhetorical criticism to illuminate the theologies of the biblical narrators. Through careful study, he shows that the unifying theme of the Old Testament is the “breaking in of the kingdom of God.” - Publisher description