The standard scholarly Bible dictionary – it is not strictly evangelical or Christian. Entries cover every proper name, major words, books of the Bible, Apocryphal texts, Dead Sea scrolls, and Nag Hammadi codices. Gives much attention to cultural history, social institutions, and method. Also valuable for the list of abbreviations of biblical, pseudepigraphical, and apocyrphal books, patristic works, Dead Sea Scroll texts, Bible translations, scholarly works, periodicals, etc. that appears at the beginning of each volume.

A one-volume Bible dictionary that includes articles on all books, persons, places, events, and significant terms in Scripture. It also incorporates articles on the background of the biblical books, cultural, natural, geographical, and literary phenomenon.

Produced in cooperation with the Society of Biblical Literature, it includes articles on biblical archaeology, geography, and chronology, along with all the people, places, events, and ideas of biblical times. Also included are photographs, maps, drawings, charts, and a pronunciation guide.

Gives entries on the Bible’s books, people, places, key words, and major doctrines. It provides background information on the history, geography, and customs of Israel and its Middle Eastern neighbors. Especially valuable is the index of more than 10,000 terms giving detailed access to the information contained within the dictionary.

Offers insight into the historical, chronological, archaeological, geographical, social, theological, and biographical aspects of the Bible. More than seven thousand entries present information on the Old and New Testaments, with maps, images, charts, and illustrations. - Publisher description

Written from a feminist perspective, this work contains articles covering every woman or group of women (including deities and personifications) mentioned in the Bible or apocryphal books. The women who are named are arranged alphabetically by name, while those who are not named are arranged in the order in which they appear in the source texts.

Introduces readers to the principal players in the history of Christian biblical interpretation: their historical and intellectual contexts, their primary works, their interpretive principles and their broader historical significance. In addition, six major essays offer an overview of the history of biblical interpretation from the second century to the present. - Publisher description

Provides a one-volume reference to the people, places, events, books, institutions, religious beliefs, and secular influence of the Bible. Ranging beyond the scope of a Bible dictionary, it features essays on religious concepts (e.g., immortality, grace, sin) and biblical views on modern issues (e.g., homosexuality, marriage, and antisemitism).

Part of the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible series, this encyclopedia provides a single source for authoritative reference overviews of scholarship on some of the most important topics of study in the field of biblical studies. The Encyclopedia contains almost 120 in-depth entries, ranging in length from 500 to 10,000 words, on each of the canonical books of the Bible, major apocryphal books of the New and Old Testaments, important noncanonical texts, and thematic essays on topics such as canonicity, textual criticism, and translation. - Publisher description

Provides More than 5,000 pages of vital information on Bible lands and people; more than 7,500 articles alphabetically arranged for easy reference; hundreds of full-color and black-and-white illustrations, charts, and graphs; full-color and black-and-white maps and outline maps for easy reference; scholarly articles ranging across the entire spectrum of theological and biblical topics; scholarship backed by the most current body of historical and archaeological research; 238 contributors from around the world. - Publisher description

Part of the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible series, this encyclopedia provides detailed, comprehensive treatments of the latest approaches to and methods for interpretation of the Bible written by expert practitioners. It will provide a single source for authoritative reference overviews of scholarship on some of the most important topics of study in the field of biblical studies. It contains nearly 120 entries, ranging in length from 3,000 to 5,000 words. It is organized in an A-to-Z format. Each entry is signed, contains a bibliography for further reading, and is cross-referenced to other useful points of interest within the Encyclopedia. It also features a topical outline of contents and an extensive index. - Publisher description