Biblical Studies
This guide is intended to give the student and pastor an introduction
to the major reference works available for the study of the Bible in
English.
Dictionaries
Dictionary of New Testament Background by Call Number: BS2312 .D53 2000Publication Date: 2000A companion volume to the other IVP Dictionaries (Jesus and the Gospels, Paul & His Letters, Later New Testament & its Development, and Old Testament: Pentateuch). This volume covers the background of Judaism (second temple and beyond, including the Dead Sea Scrolls and other Jewish writings) as well as the Greco-Roman culture. It includes Scripture, subject, and article indexes, as well as cross-references to related articles in the other dictionaries in the series.
New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis by Call Number: BS2312 .N48 2014 v.1-5ISBN: 9780310276197Publication Date: 2014Contains discussions on the major theological terms of the New Testament (arranged by their English form). These discussions cover the use of the term in classical Greek, the Old Testament, rabbinic writings, as well as the New Testament.
Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments by Call Number: BS2410 .D53 1997Publication Date: 1997A companion volume to the other IVP Dictionaries (New Testament Background, Jesus and the Gospels, Paul & His Letters, and Old Testament: Pentateuch). This volume covers the New Testament literature outside of the Gospels and Pauline epistles, as well as Christian history, theology, and practice through the middle of the second century. Includes Scripture, subject, and article indexes.
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels by Call Number: BS2555.2 .D53 2013Publication Date: 2013The second edition of the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels is a thoroughly reconstructed and revised version of the critically acclaimed 1992 first edition. This volume bridges the gap between scholars and those pastors, teachers, students and interested readers who want thorough treatments of key topics in an accessible and summary format. Articles cover each Gospel, major themes in the Gospels, key episodes in the life of Jesus, significant background topics, as well as issues and methods of interpretation. - Publisher description
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters by Call Number: BS2650.2 .D53 1993Publication Date: 1993A companion volume to the other IVP Dictionaries (New Testament Background, Jesus and the Gospels, Later New Testament & its Development, and Old Testament: Pentateuch). This volume covers Pauline theology, literature, background, scholarship, and methods of interpretation. Includes Scripture, subject, and article indexes.
- Dictionary of New Testament Background by Publication Date: 2000A companion volume to the other IVP Dictionaries (Jesus and the Gospels, Paul & His Letters, Later New Testament & its Development, and Old Testament: Pentateuch). This volume covers the background of Judaism (second temple and beyond, including the Dead Sea Scrolls and other Jewish writings) as well as the Greco-Roman culture. It includes Scripture, subject, and article indexes, as well as cross-references to related articles in the other dictionaries in the series.
- New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis by ISBN: 9780310276197Publication Date: 2014Contains discussions on the major theological terms of the New Testament (arranged by their English form). These discussions cover the use of the term in classical Greek, the Old Testament, rabbinic writings, as well as the New Testament.
- Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels by Publication Date: 2013The second edition of the Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels is a thoroughly reconstructed and revised version of the critically acclaimed 1992 first edition. This volume bridges the gap between scholars and those pastors, teachers, students and interested readers who want thorough treatments of key topics in an accessible and summary format. Articles cover each Gospel, major themes in the Gospels, key episodes in the life of Jesus, significant background topics, as well as issues and methods of interpretation. - Publisher description
Commentaries & Reference Works
Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament by Call Number: BS511.3 .C653 2007Publication Date: 2007Isolates, catalogs, and comments on both the obvious Old Testament quotations and the more subtle allusions found in the New Testament. - Publisher description
The IVP Bible Background Commentary by Call Number: BS2341.2 .K445 1993Publication Date: 1993This work provides the historical, cultural, and social background information for every passage of the New Testament. Additional features include a short glossary of cultural terms and important historical figures and several maps and charts.
Theological Interpretation of the New Testament by Call Number: BS2397 .T43 2008Publication Date: 2008Utilizes material from the award-winning Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible (DTIB) to introduce students to the Bible and theological interpretation through a comprehensive book-by-book survey of the New Testament. The articles, authored by respected scholars, make unique contributions to the study of theological interpretation of Scripture. - Publisher description
- Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament by Publication Date: 2007Isolates, catalogs, and comments on both the obvious Old Testament quotations and the more subtle allusions found in the New Testament. - Publisher description
The IVP Bible Background Commentary 2nd ed. by Publication Date: 2014This work provides the historical, cultural, and social background information for every passage of the New Testament. Additional features include a short glossary of cultural terms and important historical figures and several maps and charts.- Theological Interpretation of the New Testament by Publication Date: 2008Utilizes material from the award-winning Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible (DTIB) to introduce students to the Bible and theological interpretation through a comprehensive book-by-book survey of the New Testament. The articles, authored by respected scholars, make unique contributions to the study of theological interpretation of Scripture. - Publisher description
