Global Reformed Theology: Reference Works
Christianity is global religion with roots in the Middle East and Africa. While the Reformed tradition has its roots in Europe, it also has gone global. This guide gathers resources that include non-Western voices and histories of the Reformation.
Print Reference
The Blackwell Companion to Protestantism by
This Companion brings together new contributions from internationally renowned scholars in order to examine the past, present and future of Protestantism. Co-edited by leading Protestant theologians Alister E. McGrath and Darren C. Marks, with contributions from internationally renowned scholars. Opens with an investigation into the formation of Protestant identity across Europe, North America, Asia, Australasia and Africa. Includes coverage of leading Protestant thinkers, such as Luther, Calvin, Schleiermacher and Barth. Considers the interaction of Protestantism with different areas of modern life, including the arts, politics, the law and science. Debates the future of Protestantism in both Western and non-Western settings.
Call Number: BX4811.3 .B57 2004ISBN: 0631232788Publication Date: 2003
The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology by
With over 550 entries ranging from Abba to Zwingli composed by leading contemporary theologians from around the world, The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology represents a fresh, ecumenical approach to theological reference. Written with an emphasis on clarity and concision, all entries are designed to help the reader understand and assess the specifically theological significance of the most important concepts. Clearly structured, the volume is organized around a small number of 'core entries' which focus on key topics to provide a general overview of major subject areas, while making use of related shorter entries to impart a more detailed knowledge of technical terms. The work as a whole provides an introduction to the defining topics in Christian thought and is an essential reference point for students and scholars.
Call Number: BR95 .C36 2011ISBN: 9780521880923Publication Date: 2011
Christian Reflection in Africa: Review and Engagement by
This reference collection presents academic reviews of more than twelve-hundred contemporary Africa-related publications relevant for informed Christian reflection in and about Africa. The collection is based on the review journal BookNotes for Africa, a specialist resource dedicated to bringing to notice such publications, and furnishing them with a one-paragraph description and evaluation. Now assembled here for the first time is the entire collection of reviews through the first thirty issues of the journal's history. The core intention, both of the journal and of this compilation, is to encourage and to facilitate informed Christian reflection and engagement in Africa, through a thoughtful encounter with the published intellectual life of the continent. Reviews have been provided by a team of more than one hundred contributors drawn from throughout Africa and overseas. The books and other media selected for review represent a broad cross-section of interests and issues, of personalities and interpretations, including the secular as well as the religious. The collection will be of special interest to academic scholars, theological educators, libraries, ministry leaders, and specialist researchers in Africa and throughout the world, but will also engage any reader looking for a convenient resource relating to modern Africa and Christian presence there
Call Number: BR1359 .C475 2018ISBN: 9781783688975Publication Date: 2018
Global Dictionary of Theology by
Theological dictionaries are foundational to any theological library. But until now there has been no Global Dictionary of Theology, a theological dictionary that presumes the contribution of the Western tradition but moves beyond it to embrace and explore a full range of global expressions of theology.The Global Dictionary of Theology is inspired by the shift of the center of Christianity from the West to the Global South. But it also reflects the increase in two-way traffic between these two sectors as well as the global awareness that has permeated popular culture to an unprecedented degree.The editorial perspective of the Global Dictionary of Theology is an ecumenical evangelicalism that is receptive to discovering new facets of truth through listening and conversation on a global scale. Thus a distinctive feature of the Global Dictionary of Theology is its conversational approach. Contributors have been called on to write in the spirit of engaging in a larger theological conversation in which alternative views are expected and invited.William A. Dyrness, Veli-Matti K#65533;rkk#65533;inen, Juan F. Martinez and Simon Chan edit approximately 250 articles written by over 100 contributors representing the global spectrum of theological perspectives.Pastors, theological teachers, theological students and lay Christian leaders will all find the Global Dictionary of Theology to be a resource that unfolds new dimensions and reveals new panoramas of theological perspective and inquiry. Here is a new launching point for doing theology in today's global context.
Call Number: BR95 .G56 2008ISBN: 9780830824540Publication Date: 2008
Historical Dictionary of the Reformed Churches by Call Number: BX9406 .B46 2010ISBN: 9780810858077Publication Date: 2009
The Reformed Family Worldwide by Call Number: BX9422.2 .R44 1999ISBN: 0802844960Publication Date: 1999
E-Book Reference
The Blackwell Companion to Protestantism by
This Companion brings together new contributions from internationally renowned scholars in order to examine the past, present and future of Protestantism. Co-edited by leading Protestant theologians Alister E. McGrath and Darren C. Marks, with contributions from internationally renowned scholars. Opens with an investigation into the formation of Protestant identity across Europe, North America, Asia, Australasia and Africa. Includes coverage of leading Protestant thinkers, such as Luther, Calvin, Schleiermacher and Barth. Considers the interaction of Protestantism with different areas of modern life, including the arts, politics, the law and science. Debates the future of Protestantism in both Western and non-Western settings.
ISBN: 9781405157469Publication Date: 2006- The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology by
With over 550 entries ranging from Abba to Zwingli composed by leading contemporary theologians from around the world, The Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology represents a fresh, ecumenical approach to theological reference. Written with an emphasis on clarity and concision, all entries are designed to help the reader understand and assess the specifically theological significance of the most important concepts. Clearly structured, the volume is organized around a small number of 'core entries' which focus on key topics to provide a general overview of major subject areas, while making use of related shorter entries to impart a more detailed knowledge of technical terms. The work as a whole provides an introduction to the defining topics in Christian thought and is an essential reference point for students and scholars.
ISBN: 9780521880923Publication Date: 2011
- Global Dictionary of Theology by
Theological dictionaries are foundational to any theological library. But until now there has been no Global Dictionary of Theology, a theological dictionary that presumes the contribution of the Western tradition but moves beyond it to embrace and explore a full range of global expressions of theology.The Global Dictionary of Theology is inspired by the shift of the center of Christianity from the West to the Global South. But it also reflects the increase in two-way traffic between these two sectors as well as the global awareness that has permeated popular culture to an unprecedented degree.The editorial perspective of the Global Dictionary of Theology is an ecumenical evangelicalism that is receptive to discovering new facets of truth through listening and conversation on a global scale. Thus a distinctive feature of the Global Dictionary of Theology is its conversational approach. Contributors have been called on to write in the spirit of engaging in a larger theological conversation in which alternative views are expected and invited.William A. Dyrness, Veli-Matti K#65533;rkk#65533;inen, Juan F. Martinez and Simon Chan edit approximately 250 articles written by over 100 contributors representing the global spectrum of theological perspectives.Pastors, theological teachers, theological students and lay Christian leaders will all find the Global Dictionary of Theology to be a resource that unfolds new dimensions and reveals new panoramas of theological perspective and inquiry. Here is a new launching point for doing theology in today's global context.
ISBN: 9780830824540Publication Date: 2008
- Historical Dictionary of the Reformed Churches by Call Number: BX9406 .B46 2010ISBN: 9780810858077Publication Date: 2009
- The Reformed Family Worldwide by Call Number: BX9422.2 .R44 1999ISBN: 0802844960Publication Date: 1999
