Global Reformed Theology: Books
Christianity is global religion with roots in the Middle East and Africa. While the Reformed tradition has its roots in Europe, it also has gone global. This guide gathers resources that include non-Western voices and histories of the Reformation.
Print Books
The Oxford Handbook of the Protestant Reformations by
This is the first Handbook of the Reformations to include global Protestantism, and the most comprehensive Handbook on the development of Protestant practices which has been published so far. The volume brings together international scholars in the fields of theology, intellectual thought, andsocial and cultural history. Contributions focus on key themes, such as Martin Luther or the Swiss reformations, offering an up-to-date perspective on current scholarly debates, but they also address many new themes at the cutting edge of scholarship, with particularly emphasis on the history ofemotions, the history of knowledge, and global history.This new approach opens up fresh perspectives onto important questions: how did Protestant ways of conceiving the divine shape everyday life, ideas of the feminine or masculine, commercial practices, politics, notions of temporality, or violence? The aim of this Handbook is to bring to life thevitality of Reformation ideas. In these ways, the Handbook stresses that the Protestant Reformations in all their variety, and with their important "radical " wings, must be understood as one of the lasting long-term historical transformations which changed Europe and, subsequently, significantparts of the world.
Call Number: BR305.3 .O93 2017ISBN: 9780199646920Publication Date: 2017
Redemptive-Historical Hermeneutics and Homiletics by
This book focuses on redemptive historical hermeneutics and homiletics within New Testament theology. This is a valuable legacy of the Reformed tradition, despite differences in interpreting and preaching Bible texts that surfaced in Holland (1920s and 1930s) and the United States (1970s onwards) before influencing Korean Reformed churches. The background, origin, distinctiveness, and development of these theological debates is explored and evaluated before the features of redemptive history in Korea are identified. The influence of Western redemptive-historical scholars on the Korean debate are also analyzed.Here is a major and contemporary contribution to reformed-historical hermeneutics and homiletics that is relevant for Korean Reformed churches, but also for all Reformed churches worldwide.
Call Number: BS2331 .H98 2015ISBN: 9781625645678Publication Date: 2015
Christian Identity by
The volume offers contributions reflecting the understanding of Christian identity in the midst of changing cultural, socio-economic, political and religious context in a a globalized world.
Call Number: BV4509.5 .I58 2005ISBN: 9789047442547Publication Date: 2008
Presbyterian and Reformed Churches by
In 1905, Westminster Press published History of the Presbyterian Churches of the World by church historian Richard Clark Reed (1851¿1925). Reed¿s book, intended as a textbook for college and seminary students, covered the history of churches that subscribed to Presbyterian polity from the New Testament era to the beginning of the twentieth century. Based on Reed¿s original work as well as an unpublished manuscript by Presbyterian historian Thomas Hugh Spence Jr. (1899¿1986), Presbyterian and Reformed Churches: A Global History picks up the story of Presbyterian and Reformed churches where the earlier works left off. In this volume, James McGoldrick revises and updates Reed¿s and Spence¿s original, historically relevant works, continuing the survey to the twenty-first century.
Each chapter traces the history of Presbyterian and Reformed churches in individual nations and regions around the globe. The author covers the major events, leaders, and institutions influencing Presbyterian and Reformed church history in a readable style that is ideally suited for classroom study as well as for independent reading. A list of suggested additional readings concludes each chapter.
Nations/regions covered:
Switzerland, France, the Netherlands, and other European nations
Scotland, Ireland, England, and Wales
United States
Mexico and Central America
Caribbean Basin
South America
Africa
Middle East
India
Indochina and Southeast Asia
China
Korea, Japan, and lesser Pacific Islands
Call Number: BX8931.3 .M36 2012ISBN: 9781601781628Publication Date: 2012
The Cambridge Companion to Reformed Theology by
This Companion offers an introduction to Reformed theology, one of the most historically important, ecumenically active, and currently generative traditions of doctrinal enquiry, by way of reflecting upon its origins, its development, and its significance. The first part, Theological Topics, indicates the distinct array of doctrinal concerns which gives coherence over time to the identity of this tradition in all its diversity. The second part, Theological Figures, explores the life and work of a small number of theologians who have not only worked within this tradition, but have constructively shaped and inspired it in vital ways. The final part, Theological Contexts, considers the ways in which the resultant Reformed sensibilities in theology have had a marked impact both upon theological and ecclesiastical landscapes in different places and upon the wider societal landscapes of history. The result is a fascinating and compelling guide to this dynamic and vibrant theological tradition.
Call Number: BX9406 .C36 2016ISBN: 9781107027220Publication Date: 2016
The Oxford Handbook of Reformed Theology by
The Oxford Handbook of Reformed Theology looks back to the resources of past and survey the present conversations that are vibrant and ongoing in Reformed theology. Firstly, the collection offers accounts of the great contexts of reformed theology, the various relationships - ancient andmodern - which it maintains and from which it derives. Recent research has shown the intricate ties between the patristic and medieval heritage of the church and the work of the reformed movement in the sixteenth century. The past century has also witnessed an explosion of reformed theology outsidethe Western world, prompting a need for attention not only to these global voices but also to the unique history of reformed theology in the West. Secondly, the contributors assess some of the classic, representative texts of the reformed tradition as well as noting their reception history. Thereformed movement is not dominated by a single figure, but it does contain a host of paradigmatic texts that demonstrate the vibrancy of reformed thought on politics, piety, biblical commentary, dogmatic reflection, and social engagement. Thirdly, the Handbook turns to key themes in the present,doctrines and topics that continue to receive attention by reformed theologians today. Contributors who are themselves making cutting-edge contributions to constructive theology today reflect on the state of the question as well as their own proposals regarding a host of topics and themes.
Call Number: BX9422.3 .O947 2020ISBN: 9780198723912Publication Date: 2020
Reformed Public Theology by Call Number: BX9423.S63 R33 2021ISBN: 9781540961976Publication Date: 2021
Black and Reformed by
These essays represent a forceful, relentless engagement with the political, social, economic, and theological pillars upon which South African apartheid rested. In the renewed struggles against global apartheid, Boesak's writings, in their theological grounding and with their social and political challenge, come across as alive, relevant, and powerful as they were in the struggle against South African apartheid, offering valuable insights and lessons for ongoing justice struggles today.
Call Number: DT1756 .B55 1984ISBN: 9781498226424Publication Date: 1984
E-Books
Christian Identity by
The volume offers contributions reflecting the understanding of Christian identity in the midst of changing cultural, socio-economic, political and religious context in a a globalized world.
ISBN: 9789004158061Publication Date: 2008- Presbyterian and Reformed Churches by
In 1905, Westminster Press published History of the Presbyterian Churches of the World by church historian Richard Clark Reed (1851¿1925). Reed¿s book, intended as a textbook for college and seminary students, covered the history of churches that subscribed to Presbyterian polity from the New Testament era to the beginning of the twentieth century. Based on Reed¿s original work as well as an unpublished manuscript by Presbyterian historian Thomas Hugh Spence Jr. (1899¿1986), Presbyterian and Reformed Churches: A Global History picks up the story of Presbyterian and Reformed churches where the earlier works left off. In this volume, James McGoldrick revises and updates Reed¿s and Spence¿s original, historically relevant works, continuing the survey to the twenty-first century.
Each chapter traces the history of Presbyterian and Reformed churches in individual nations and regions around the globe. The author covers the major events, leaders, and institutions influencing Presbyterian and Reformed church history in a readable style that is ideally suited for classroom study as well as for independent reading. A list of suggested additional readings concludes each chapter.
Nations/regions covered:
Switzerland, France, the Netherlands, and other European nations
Scotland, Ireland, England, and Wales
United States
Mexico and Central America
Caribbean Basin
South America
Africa
Middle East
India
Indochina and Southeast Asia
China
Korea, Japan, and lesser Pacific Islands
ISBN: 9781601781628Publication Date: 2012
Library of Congress Subject Headings
- Globalization -- Religious aspects -- Christianity.For a more exhaustive list of resources on global Christianity.
- Reformed Church -- History.For a more exhaustive list of resource on the history of the Reformed tradition.
