Article length essays (10-15 pages) on topics within twelve subject areas: theories of ethics, ethical concepts, medical ethics, scientific ethics, environmental ethics, legal ethics, ethics in education, ethics and politics, business and economic ethics, media ethics, ethics and social services, and social ethics. Each essay contains an outline, glossary, defining statement, cross-references, and a bibliography in addition to the body of the entry.

Contains articles by distinguished academic philosophers, covering a wide variety of ethical concepts (e.g., theories of the good) as well as ethical questions raised by contemporary social issues (e.g., capital punishment). Substantial survey articles describe Eastern and Western ethical traditions as well as specialized areas such as environmental ethics. Includes a number of biographies. Each article contains a bibliography and references to related articles.

This work seeks to offer “a unique synthesis of Judaeo-Christian approaches to social and political issues of wide concern as well as analysing theological and secular positions on matters of religious practice and belief.” (cover) Each entry includes a brief definition of the term, a description of the principal ideas behind it, an analysis of its history, development and contemporary relevance, followed by a bibliography.

Combines articles on ethics, psychology, and practical theology. Is formatted in two parts, the first contains eighteen keynote articles giving a basic introduction to the main themes of Christian ethics and pastoral theology. The second part consists of over 700 articles usually including bibliographies and when relevant referring back to the keynote articles. Includes biographies of ethicists, theologians, economists, psychologists, and British counselors.