Logos Bible Software
Library Director
Logos through Covenant
Covenant has partnered with Faithlife to equip you with a custom Logos Bible Software app. It’s specially designed to help you read and interpret God’s Word in its original languages. You can find out more about that partnership here.
Logos Basics
Key Resources in Your Logos Library
English Standard Version | ESVPublication Date: 2016The English Standard Version utilizes a formal equivalence translation philosophy to maintain a strong fidelity to the underlying Greek and Hebrew text. It is a thorough revision of the RSV.
New International Version | NIVPublication Date: 2011The NIV Bible has become the best-selling English version of the Bible since the King James Version. Utilizing a dynamic equivalence translation philosophy, it aims to be highly readable. This 2011 version is the most recent revision.
NET Bible (2nd ed.)Publication Date: 2019The NET Bible is an all new dynamic equivalence translation. The key feature is the over 60,000 translators' and study notes that indicate alternate translation options and explain why certain translation choices were made.
New American Standard Bible | NASBPublication Date: 1995The New American Standard Bible aims to provide a literal translation of the Bible in readable, contemporary English. Most recently revised in 1995.
New Revised Standard Version | NRSVPublication Date: 1989The New Revised Standard Version is an English translation that takes a formal equivalence approach and adopts gender-inclusive language. Includes the Apocrypha.
Nestle-Aland Greek New Testament (28th ed.) | NA28 by Publication Date: 2012Nestle-Aland 28 is the standard critical edition of the Greek New Testament. This resource is accompanied by the text critical apparatus as a separate module.
Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature (3rd ed.) | BDAG by Publication Date: 2000BDAG is the standard Greek lexicon for New Testament studies.
Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament Based on Semantic Domains | Louw & Nida by Publication Date: 1996Rather than being organized alphabetically, Louw & Nida's lexicon groups words by meaning or "semantic domain". This arrangement can help identify distinctions and overlaps in the meanings of similar words.
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament (Abridged) | TDNT by Publication Date: 1985The Theological Dictionary of the New Testament contains detailed explanations of the usage of 2,300 words from the New Testament. This one-volume abridgment of the full 10-volume set, aims to present the most important information for pastors and laypeople. Students needing to dive deeper can consult the full volumes in the Library's Reference section.
Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia | BHS by Publication Date: 1967/1977, 1997, 2006The BHS is the standard edition of the Hebrew Bible. It is based upon the Leningrad Codex, the oldest dated manuscript of the complete Hebrew Bible. This resource is accompanied by the text critical apparatus as a separate module.
Enhanced Brown-Driver-Briggs Hebrew and English Lexicon | BDB by Publication Date: 1977BDB is the standard Hebrew lexicon for Old Testament studies.
Dictionary of Classical Hebrew by Publication Date: 1993-2011The Dictionary of Classical Hebrew is a modern lexicon covering the Old Testament and other Hebrew writings up to 200 CE, including the Dead Sea Scrolls.
Grammar of Biblical Hebrew (rev. ed.) | Joüon-Muraoka by Publication Date: 2006Paul Joüon and T. Muraoka’s Grammar of Biblical Hebrew is one of the most complete Hebrew grammars available in English.
The Old Testament in Greek according to the Septuagint | LXX Swete by Publication Date: 1909Swete’s Septuagint is a "diplomatic" text with Codex Vaticanus as its base and evidence from additional important manuscripts incorporated into its apparatus. Companion resources are the Alternate Texts, the Apparatus, and the Alternate Texts Apparatus.
Septuagint with Logos Morphology | Logos LXX by Publication Date: 1979Rahlfs' Septuagint is a modern critical edition. This resource is accompanied by its Alternate Texts module.
The Lexham English Septuagint (2nd ed.) | LES2Publication Date: 2020The Lexham English Septuagint is a new translation of the Septuagint based on Swete’s edition of the Septuagint. It aims to provide "a literal, readable and transparent English edition of the Greek Old Testament."
An Intermediate Greek-English Lexicon by Publication Date: 1996An Intermediate Greek-English Lexicon—a.k.a., "Middle Liddell"—is an abridgment of Liddell and Scott’s Greek-English Lexicon, the authoritative dictionary of ancient Greek.
Tyndale CommentariesEach volume published in the Tyndale Old Testament Commentary (TOTC) series and the Tyndale New Testament Commentary (TNTC) series by IVP provides brief exposition on a book of the Bible from a noted evangelical scholar. Quite useful for quick reference and beginning exegesis.
New Bible Commentary (4th ed.) by Publication Date: 1994A helpful single-volume evangelical biblical commentary for quick reference.
New Bible Dictionary (3rd ed.) by Publication Date: 1996A helpful reference tool with more than 2,000 entries on the people, places, topics, and themes in the Bible.
Prioritize Resources
This video shows how to set which resources Logos will use or display by default throughout the app.