Biblical Hebrew
This guide gives students and pastors an introduction to major works available for the study of the Bible in Hebrew in our reference, circulating, and electronic collections.
Dictionaries
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament by Call Number: BS440 .B5713 1977 v.1-17ISBN: 9780802823441Publication Date: 1975-2021Beginning with 'ābh ('āb), “father,” and continuing through the alphabet, the TDOT volumes present in-depth discussions of the key Hebrew and Aramaic words in the Old Testament. The intention of the writers is to concentrate on meaning, starting from the more general, everyday senses and building to an understanding of theologically significant concepts. - Eerdmans
New International Dictionary of Old Testament Theology and Exegesis by Call Number: BS440 .N438 1997 v.1-5ISBN: 0310481708Publication Date: 1997This work is intended to supplant Harris, Archer, and Waltke’s Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament (TWOT). Includes a lexical dictionary similar to the one found in TWOT, preceded by the “Guide to Old Testament Theology and Exegesis” (11 essays covering introductory topics). A topical dictionary in volume four, giving articles of a more standard Bible dictionary scope follows the lexical dictionary. Volume five consists of indexes of semantic fields, Hebrew words, Scripture, subject, and numbering system (converting Strong’s numbers to Goodrick-Kohlenberger – from the NIV Exhaustive Concordance).
Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament by Call Number: BS440 .T4813 1997 v.1-3ISBN: 9781565631335Publication Date: 1997This translation of a German work is similar to both NIDOTTE and TWOT, this work seeks to cover the historical, semantic, and theological meanings of Old Testament concepts. Arranged by root, many words are covered in articles under synonyms, antonyms, or derivatives so it is best to look the word up in the index in volume three of all Hebrew and Aramaic terms covered by the set.
Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament by Call Number: BS440 .T49 1980 v.1-2ISBN: 0802486312Publication Date: 1980Articles discuss every Hebrew word of theological significance in the Old Testament. Also provides the definitions of all other words. Articles stress theological, not linguistic, understanding and include bibliographies. For the English-only user, a cross-index from the "Hebrew word number" in Strong's Concordance to entries in this wordbook is appended.
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament, Volume XVI by ISBN: 9780802872814Publication Date: 2018Beginning with 'ābh ('āb), “father,” and continuing through the alphabet, the TDOT volumes present in-depth discussions of the key Hebrew and Aramaic words in the Old Testament. The intention of the writers is to concentrate on meaning, starting from the more general, everyday senses and building to an understanding of theologically significant concepts. - Eerdmans- Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament, Volume 3 by ISBN: 9781565631335Publication Date: 1997This translation of a German work is similar to both NIDOTTE and TWOT, this work seeks to cover the historical, semantic, and theological meanings of Old Testament concepts. Arranged by root, many words are covered in articles under synonyms, antonyms, or derivatives so it is best to look the word up in the index in volume three of all Hebrew and Aramaic terms covered by the set.
- Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament v. 1 by ISBN: 0802486312Publication Date: 1980Articles discuss every Hebrew word of theological significance in the Old Testament. Also provides the definitions of all other words. Articles stress theological, not linguistic, understanding and include bibliographies. For the English-only user, a cross-index from the "Hebrew word number" in Strong's Concordance to entries in this wordbook is appended.
- Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament v. 2 by ISBN: 0802486312Publication Date: 1980Articles discuss every Hebrew word of theological significance in the Old Testament. Also provides the definitions of all other words. Articles stress theological, not linguistic, understanding and include bibliographies. For the English-only user, a cross-index from the "Hebrew word number" in Strong's Concordance to entries in this wordbook is appended.
Concordances
A New Concordance of the Old Testament by Call Number: BS1121 .E9 1989ISBN: 9780801034176Publication Date: 1989A concordance of the Hebrew text of the Old Testament listing all words and terms that occur in alphabetical order (not by root). The verse references are given in English, but the citations, main uses, and synonyms of each entry remain in Hebrew. A helpful guide to using the concordance may be found in a pocket inside the front cover of Covenant’s copy.
The Hebrew English Concordance to the Old Testament by Call Number: BS1121 .K65 1998ISBN: 9780310208396Publication Date: 1998A concordance to the Old Testament in Hebrew. This one allows you to look up the Hebrew word and get the Biblical references in English (NIV).
The Englishman's Hebrew Concordance of the Old Testament by Call Number: BS1121 .W43 2001ISBN: 1565632087Publication Date: 2001This concordance to the Hebrew Old Testament gives the Biblical references in English (KJV) as well as giving both the Strong’s number and the page in the Brown-Driver-Briggs lexicon for each entry. The entries for verbs are broken into subentries based on the grammatical form of the word that was used (e.g., all piel imperative are noted and listed together, etc.).
- A New Concordance of the Old Testament by ISBN: 9780801034176Publication Date: 1985A concordance of the Hebrew text of the Old Testament listing all words and terms that occur in alphabetical order (not by root). The verse references are given in English, but the citations, main uses, and synonyms of each entry remain in Hebrew. A helpful guide to using the concordance may be found in a pocket inside the front cover of Covenant’s copy.