Biblical Greek
This guide gives students and pastors an introduction to major works available for the study of the Bible in Greek in our reference, circulating, and electronic collections.
Exegetical Works
Analytical Greek New Testament by Call Number: BS1965 1981bISBN: 0801034965Publication Date: 1982The Greek New Testament with each word’s parsing presented below the word. However, due to the space limitations of trying to fit the parsings below the word, a code must be learned to interpret the parsings.
A Grammatical Analysis of the Greek New Testament by Call Number: BS1965.2 .Z413 1996ISBN: 8876535888Publication Date: 1996A small volume that parses and translates most of the words of the New Testament. Arranged by verse, this is an handy tool for quick reference. It should be noted that the parsings are often incomplete (giving only the information that the authors found necessary) and not every word of the text is explained.
The Exhaustive Concordance to the Greek New Testament by Call Number: BS2302 .K655 1995ISBN: 0310410304Publication Date: 1995A concordance to the New Testament in Greek. It allows you to look up the Greek word and get the Biblical references in Greek.
The Greek-English Concordance to the New Testament by Call Number: BS2302 .K657 1997ISBN: 0310402204Publication Date: 1997A concordance to the New Testament in Greek. This one allows you to look up the Greek word and get the Biblical references in English (NIV).
Concordance to the Greek Testament by Call Number: BS2302 .M8 2002ISBN: 0567085716Publication Date: 2002A concordance to the New Testament in Greek (specifically the UBS 4th edition). It also indicates significant textual variations, gives citations in grammatical completeness instead of merely a few words, the Hebrew text of direct Old Testament quotations found in the New Testament, and references indicate whether vocabulary is also found in classical Greek or the Septuagint.
Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament by Call Number: BS2312 .E913 1990 v.1-3ISBN: 0802824099Publication Date: 1990-93The standard shorter theological dictionary of New Testament words. A translation of a German work, it includes definitions of every Greek word in the New Testament. As well as providing a guide to the usage of significant New Testament words in different New Testament literary and theological contexts.
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament by Call Number: BS2312 .K4 v.1-10ISBN: 0802823246Publication Date: 1976The translation of a German work, TDNT treats more that 2,300 theologically significant New Testament words (arranged by their Greek forms). TDNT typically discusses the following for each word: its secular Greek background, its role in the Old Testament, its use in extrabiblical Jewish literature, and its varied uses in the New Testament. Some caution is required as many of the articles read theological meaning into the words themselves, whereas the theology often properly involves the words as employed in specific contexts.
New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis by Call Number: BS2312 .N48 2014 v.1-5ISBN: 9780310276197Publication Date: 2014Contains discussions on the major theological terms of the New Testament (arranged by their English form). These discussions cover the use of the term in classical Greek, the Old Testament, rabbinic writings, as well as the New Testament.
Theological Lexion of the New Testament by Call Number: BS2312 .S613 1994 v.1-3ISBN: 1565630351Publication Date: 1994Similar to both Kittel and Brown above, this three-volume translation of a French work seeks the religious meaning of the language used in the New Testament. Though similar in intent to Kittel more than half of the words covered are not included in Kittel. Like Kittel, this work is arranged by the Greek form.
A Textual Guide to the Greek New Testament by Call Number: BS2325 .O43 2006ISBN: 9781598562026Publication Date: 2006A companion to the UBS Greek New Testament 4th ed., this work sets forth the reasons that led the Committee of editors of the UBS 4th ed. to adopt certain manuscript readings for inclusion in the text and to relegate certain other readings to the apparatus.
- Analytical Greek New Testament by ISBN: 0801034965Publication Date: 1982The Greek New Testament with each word’s parsing presented below the word. However, due to the space limitations of trying to fit the parsings below the word, a code must be learned to interpret the parsings.
- A Grammatical Analysis of the Greek New Testament by ISBN: 8876535888Publication Date: 1993A small volume that parses and translates most of the words of the New Testament. Arranged by verse, this is an handy tool for quick reference. It should be noted that the parsings are often incomplete (giving only the information that the authors found necessary) and not every word of the text is explained.
- The Exhaustive Concordance to the Greek New Testament by ISBN: 0310410304Publication Date: 1995A concordance to the New Testament in Greek. It allows you to look up the Greek word and get the Biblical references in Greek.
- Concordance to the Greek Testament by ISBN: 0567085716Publication Date: 2002A concordance to the New Testament in Greek (specifically the UBS 4th edition). It also indicates significant textual variations, gives citations in grammatical completeness instead of merely a few words, the Hebrew text of direct Old Testament quotations found in the New Testament, and references indicate whether vocabulary is also found in classical Greek or the Septuagint.
- Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament by ISBN: 0802824099Publication Date: 1990-93The translation of a German work, TDNT treats more that 2,300 theologically significant New Testament words (arranged by their Greek forms). TDNT typically discusses the following for each word: its secular Greek background, its role in the Old Testament, its use in extrabiblical Jewish literature, and its varied uses in the New Testament. Some caution is required as many of the articles read theological meaning into the words themselves, whereas the theology often properly involves the words as employed in specific contexts.
- New International Dictionary of New Testament Theology and Exegesis by ISBN: 9780310276197Publication Date: 2014Contains discussions on the major theological terms of the New Testament (arranged by their English form). These discussions cover the use of the term in classical Greek, the Old Testament, rabbinic writings, as well as the New Testament.