Counseling
This guide is an overview of the Library's counseling resources. It highlights important print and e-books titles, as well as databases, journals, and websites for counseling students and counselors.
Library Director
Subject Headings
Follow these links to find more resources on a given topic.
Where to Find These Titles
The titles on this page can be found in the J. Oliver Buswell Jr. Library's Reference (non-circulating), Stacks (circulating), and E-book collections. Look for the "Location" on the title's record to find out where you can find it on the shelf.
Psychology
APA Dictionary of Psychology by Call Number: BF31 .A63 2015ISBN: 9781433819445Publication Date: 2015Nearly 26,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions. Includes thousands of cross-references that deepen the user's comprehension of related topics. Also includes more than 400 brief biographical entries on historical figures in psychology and other related areas.
Baker Encyclopedia of Psychology and Counseling by Call Number: BF31 .B25 1999ISBN: 0801021006Publication Date: 1999This work seeks to give a comprehensive treatment of psychology from a Christian (evangelical) point of view. Articles are divided into 12 categories: fields of specialization and professional organizations; eminent contributors (i.e., biographical articles); systems and theories; human development; learning, cognition, and intelligence; sexuality, marriage, and family; social behavior; personality; psychopathology; treatment; religion; psychological assessment; and pastoral psychology and counseling.
A Dictionary of Psychology by Call Number: BF31 .C65 2015ISBN: 9780199657681Publication Date: 2015This authoritative and up-to-date dictionary covers all branches of psychology. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods. The range of entries extends to related disciplines including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, the neurosciences, and statistics.
Encyclopedia of Psychology by Call Number: BF31 .E525 2000 v.1-8ISBN: 1557986509Publication Date: 2000A comprehensive encyclopedia to all aspects of psychology published under the auspices of the American Psychological Association. Volume eight includes an index and a synoptic outline of the contents (a listing of the larger categories into which the articles are subarranged).
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832178Publication Date: 2020The manual for references and citations using the APA style. It also covers grammar, the mechanics of writing, and all topics relevant to preparing a paper for publication in the APA style.
NOTE: Covenant follows a slightly modified form of the APA style. Students should follow the APA Style Guide published by the Library.
Library Use: Handbook for Psychology by Call Number: BF76.8 .R43 2003ISBN: 1557989923Publication Date: 2003Written for a novice researcher beginning a psychology paper, this work gives tips on everything from selecting and refining a topic to locating books and articles. This reference is very good as a handy how-to guide for research in psychology.
Encyclopedia of Human Emotions by Call Number: BF531 .E55 1999 v.1-2ISBN: 0028647661Publication Date: 1999Covers the nature, causes, expression, and societal role of emotions – today and in the past, across cultures. Volume two includes a subject index as well as an index to the bibliographies.
The Professional Counselor's Desk Reference by Call Number: BF636.6 .P76 2016ISBN: 9780826171818Publication Date: 2015"Marini and Stebnicki have compiled an extremely useful and practical counseling resource covering a variety of topics...[U]ndergraduates, graduate students, and new counselors will find this a valuable tool...This unique volume is a great addition for college and university libraries...Highly recommended...."
--Choice (Named an Outstanding Academic Title for 2009)
Encyclopedia of Counseling by Call Number: BF636.6 .R67 2017ISBN: 9781138942653Publication Date: 2017A complete study guide program for preparation for the National Counselor Examination (NCE), state counseling exams, and the Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Examination (CPCE).
Counseling Ethics for the 21st Century by Call Number: BF636.67 .C64 2019ISBN: 9781506345475Publication Date: 2019
Tests in Print IX by Call Number: BF698.5 .B878 2016ISBN: 9780910674652Publication Date: 2016“Consists of descriptive listings of and references to commercially published tests that are in print and available for purchase and use. It serves as a comprehensive index to the Mental Measurements Yearbook” (introduction). As the subtitle indicates, it includes tests, test reviews, and literature on the specific tests.
The Twenty-First Mental Measurements Yearbook by Call Number: BF698.5 .M46+ 2021ISBN: 091067468XPublication Date: 2021Consists of descriptive entries, references, and critical reviews of commercially published tests in the English language. Each Yearbook includes reviews of tests that are new or substantially revised since the previous Yearbook. Tests in Print serves as a comprehensive index to all the editions of the Yearbook.
Handbook of Clinical Child Psychology by Call Number: RJ503.3 .H36 2001ISBN: 0471244066Publication Date: 2001Provides a text and reference work that deals comprehensively with the range of children's psychological problems that confront clinical child psychologists, pediatric psychologists, educators, child psychiatrists, and other mental health professionals. Intervention and management are emphasized. Research in relevant areas is covered, and practical suggestions and advice for clinical practice are provided.
- APA Dictionary of Psychology by ISBN: 9781433819445Publication Date: 2015Nearly 26,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions. Includes thousands of cross-references that deepen the user's comprehension of related topics. Also includes more than 400 brief biographical entries on historical figures in psychology and other related areas.
- Encyclopedia of Psychology by ISBN: 1557986509Publication Date: 2000A comprehensive encyclopedia to all aspects of psychology published under the auspices of the American Psychological Association. Volume eight includes an index and a synoptic outline of the contents (a listing of the larger categories into which the articles are subarranged).
- Library Use: Handbook for Psychology by ISBN: 1557989923Publication Date: 2003Written for a novice researcher beginning a psychology paper, this work gives tips on everything from selecting and refining a topic to locating books and articles. This reference is very good as a handy how-to guide for research in psychology.
- Encyclopedia of Human Emotions by ISBN: 0028647661Publication Date: 1999Covers the nature, causes, expression, and societal role of emotions – today and in the past, across cultures. Volume two includes a subject index as well as an index to the bibliographies.
- The Professional Counselor's Desk Reference by ISBN: 9780826171818Publication Date: 2015"Marini and Stebnicki have compiled an extremely useful and practical counseling resource covering a variety of topics...[U]ndergraduates, graduate students, and new counselors will find this a valuable tool...This unique volume is a great addition for college and university libraries...Highly recommended...." - Choice (Named an Outstanding Academic Title for 2009)
- Encyclopedia of Counseling by ISBN: 9781138942653Publication Date: 2017A complete study guide program for preparation for the National Counselor Examination (NCE), state counseling exams, and the Counselor Preparation Comprehensive Examination (CPCE).
- Handbook of Clinical Child Psychology by ISBN: 0471244066Publication Date: 2001Provides a text and reference work that deals comprehensively with the range of children's psychological problems that confront clinical child psychologists, pediatric psychologists, educators, child psychiatrists, and other mental health professionals. Intervention and management are emphasized. Research in relevant areas is covered, and practical suggestions and advice for clinical practice are provided.
Practical Theology
New Dictionary of Christian Ethics and Pastoral Theology by Call Number: BJ1199 .N495 1995ISBN: 0830814086Publication Date: 1995Arranged in two parts, the first part consists of 18 keynote articles (~6-8 pages each) on various topics including “Pastoral Care, Counseling and Psychotherapy.” The second part is the dictionary proper which includes articles on all aspects of ethics, psychology, and practical theology. The articles include biographies of ethicists, theologians, economists, psychologists, and British counselors.
The New Dictionary of Pastoral Studies by Call Number: BV4005.5 .N48 2002ISBN: 0802823181Publication Date: 2002Articles cover the theology and practice of pastoral studies: pastoral care and counseling, and the related disciplines of psychology and sociology. Articles are written from the pastoral perspective and consist of a succinct definition of the term followed by an explanation of its importance and suggestions for further reading.
Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling by Call Number: BV4011.3 .D53 2005ISBN: 0687497515Publication Date: 2005A comprehensive guide to almost every topic related to pastoral care and counseling. Articles include biographies, psychological theories, doctrinal issues, historical studies, illnesses and disorders, and legal and practical issues.
Christian Counseling Ethics by Call Number: BV4012.2 .C516 2013ISBN: 9780830839940Publication Date: 2013
- New Dictionary of Christian Ethics and Pastoral Theology by ISBN: 0830814086Publication Date: 1995Arranged in two parts, the first part consists of 18 keynote articles (~6-8 pages each) on various topics including “Pastoral Care, Counseling and Psychotherapy.” The second part is the dictionary proper which includes articles on all aspects of ethics, psychology, and practical theology. The articles include biographies of ethicists, theologians, economists, psychologists, and British counselors.
- The New Dictionary of Pastoral Studies by ISBN: 0802823181Publication Date: 2002Articles cover the theology and practice of pastoral studies: pastoral care and counseling, and the related disciplines of psychology and sociology. Articles are written from the pastoral perspective and consist of a succinct definition of the term followed by an explanation of its importance and suggestions for further reading.
- Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling by ISBN: 0687497515Publication Date: 2005A comprehensive guide to almost every topic related to pastoral care and counseling. Articles include biographies, psychological theories, doctrinal issues, historical studies, illnesses and disorders, and legal and practical issues.
Psychiatry
Handbook of Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity in Counseling and Psychotherapy by Call Number: RC451.4.G39 H365 2017ISBN: 9781433823060Publication Date: 2017
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-5-TR by Call Number: RC455.2.C4 D54 2022ISBN: 9780890425756Publication Date: 2022The authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research.
Issues and Ethics in the Helping Professions by Call Number: RC455.2.E8 C66 2019ISBN: 9781337406291Publication Date: 2019
Crisis Intervention Handbook by Call Number: RC480.6 .C744 2015ISBN: 9780190201050Publication Date: 2015
Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy by Call Number: RC488 .Y3 2005ISBN: 9780465092840Publication Date: 2005
Marriage and Family Therapy by Call Number: RC488.5 .M377 2019ISBN: 9780826161246Publication Date: 2019
Integrative Psychotherapy by Call Number: RC489.S676 M46 2007ISBN: 9780830828302Publication Date: 2007
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by ISBN: 9780890425541Publication Date: 2013The authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research.
