Publisher Description: "Pastor John Allen Bankson shares the whys, whens, and hows of observing Advent. He encourages us to tap into the time-honored rhythm of prepare, celebrate, reflect by rediscovering how the anticipation of Advent gets us ready for the glories of Christmas. Through Scripture, song, and symbol, we can prepare ourselves, our homes, and our churches for a celebration of Christ's coming that is not merely happy, but truly joyful. For over a decade, Pastor Bankson has amassed an impressive collection of Advent resources, implementing and refining them in the church and in his home. Those resources have become Rekindling Advent, which will help you grow in your own understanding and lead others in embracing the season of joyful waiting."

Publisher Description: "The Worship Sourcebook is a unique resource now available for the traditional or liturgical church's worship service needs. Filled with beautiful prepared prayers, stirring liturgies, and useful service plans, it provides an alternative to the Book of Common Worship (PCUSA) that is aimed more broadly in terms of global resources for Reformed and evangelical churches. The companion CD contains the entire 800-page text for easy cutting and pasting into bulletins, overheads, and orders of worship. The Worship Sourcebook is a perfect tool for exploring traditional worship in a classroom setting."

A collection of Advent sermons and other writings.
Publisher Description: "Advent, says Fleming Rutledge, is not for the faint of heart. As the midnight of the Christian year, the season of Advent is rife with dark, gritty realities. In this book, with her trademark wit and wisdom, Rutledge explores Advent as a time of rich paradoxes, a season celebrating at once Christ's incarnation and his second coming, and she masterfully unfolds the ethical and future-oriented significance of Advent for the church"

Published by the Office of Theology and Worship of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.), the first issue of each volume, titled Lectionary Aids, "provides worship and music resources based on the Scriptures of the Revised Common Lectionary, including opening sentences, prayers of the day, hymn and song suggestions, and anthem selections."

The September issue offers liturgy ideas and other worship resources for the Advent season.

The first issue of each volume, released ahead of Advent, features sermons and articles centered on themes of the season.

Publisher Description: "Love is at the heart of Christmas - it's the reason behind all our gathering and gift-giving at this time of year. In this Advent devotional, Dr Sinclair B Ferguson refreshes our hearts as we reflect on the source of it all--love incarnate, Jesus Christ. Over the course of December, this devotional walks through 1 Corinthians 13 phrase-by-phrase, showing us that "love is" the Lord Jesus himself. Sinclair Ferguson brings the rich theology of the incarnation to life with his trademark warmth and clarity. Drawing on stories from the Gospels, we'll see what "love" looked like in the life of Christ, and be challenged us to love like him during the Christmas season. Each day's reading finishes with carols and hymns for reflection and prayer."

Publisher Description: "Advent and Christmas are two of the most frequently practiced seasons in the church, but many Christians wonder how they could approach them more personally and devotionally. In the Advent and Christmas edition of Let Us Keep the Feast, you'll find help for celebrating both seasons: traditions new and old, suggested readings, recipes, and prayers."

Publisher Description: "This volume is part of a trilogy of prayer manuals compiled by Publishers Weekly religion editor Phyllis Tickle as a contemporary Book of Hours to guide Christians gently yet authoritatively through the daily offices. The Divine Hours is the first major literary and liturgical reworking of the sixth-century Benedictine Rule of fixed-hour prayer. Making primary use of the Book of Common Prayer and the writings of the Church Fathers, The Divine Hours is also a companion to the New Jerusalem Bible, from which it draws its Scripture readings. The trilogy blends prayer and praise in a way that, while extraordinarily fresh, respects and builds upon the ancient wisdom of Christianity."

Publisher Description: "Christmas is the season most difficult to grasp and understand in all its spiritual richness. The sentimentality and commercialism that dominate the season tend to obscure the profound mystery at its heart: the Incarnation. God with Us provides the perfect way to slow down and reconnect with the liturgical and sacramental traditions that illuminate the meaning of Christmas and the Incarnation. In daily meditations for the complete seasons of Advent, Christmas, and Epiphany, the contributors offer a tapestry of reflection, Scripture, prayer, and history."

Publisher Description: "We tend to think of Advent as the season of anticipation before Christmas―and while it is that, it’s also much more. Throughout its history, the church has observed Advent as a preparation not only for the first coming of Christ in his incarnation but also for his second coming at the last day. It's also about a third coming: the coming of Christ to meet us in our present moment, to make us holy by his Word and Sacrament. In this short volume, priest and writer Tish Harrison Warren explores all three of these 'comings' of Christ and invites us into a deeper experience of the first season of the Christian year."

Publisher Description: "As families in your church reflect on the Advent season Good News of Great Joy is made to help them grasp the meaning of Christmas. This devotional includes the following for each day: Scripture Reading, a Lesson, Questions, Memory Verse, and a Hymn. It will also teach about each candle lit for Sundays in Advent as well as providing corresponding ornament templates that children can color and decorate. The devotional is made to be used year after year."

Publisher Description: "Little Hearts Prepare Him Room is a family Advent devotional designed to go deeper as children grow older. The well-known texts call children and parents alike to taste the grace of Christmas, and apply that grace to the parts of life that don’t make sense. With scriptures primarily from the gospels of Luke and Matthew, and themes from the Westminster Confession of Faith, both content and reflection questions intend to address the heart of the matter: what God says about us in His word and how His truth shapes our lives. In reflecting on the account of Christ’s birth, you will consider themes such as what it means to be a covenant child, to have a federal head, and to know the assurance of God’s salvation. As you read through these short passages and remember the Christmas story, may God remind you of truth that that both encourages and transforms."

Publisher Description: "This 4-week devotional will guide and prepare the reader for the celebration of Christmas. Anticipate uses Old Testament prophecies to guide families and individuals as they learn to live into the story of God. Every week a new theme will be explored through daily interactive elements, prayers, and devotional readings. Through the practice of the Jesse Tree, everyone can experience the twenty-five symbols of Christmas each day of the Anticipate journey."

Publisher Description: "The Messy Church series provides resources to help your church bring together people of all ages and stages of faith, allowing them to experience a creative and fun-filled Christian community. Messy Christmas offers your church a tool to create a unique, come-as-you-are experience built on creativity, celebration, and hospitality. These three once-a-month sessions include Christmas prayers, global action suggestions, games and competitions, Christmas food crafts, and many other ideas to experience joy during this time of the year."